April 27

Saturday means Parkrun (if I can drag myself out of bed!) I felt a bit of trepidation this morning. My last Parkrun was 2 weeks ago and I managed to knock 20s off my previous best time. Would I be able to match that time today? Last time followed a 2 week holiday where I ran almost every day and got plenty of rest. Today’s run would follow a really busy week at work and only 20 minutes on the treadmill since Sunday. oh and a glass of wine last night.
So I queued up (at the back) of the start line and off we went. I managed to stay with the pack as far as the hill – good for me normally I lose them about half way up the avenue! I did worry that I had set off too fast, normally I take it pretty steady as I want to be able to finish and I was worried that I might not make it to the end if I exhausted my self now. I really had to push myself but I kept going and got round.
Parkrun is interesting for a non athlete like me. There are some real athletes there finishing in under 20 minutes. They usually finish their second lap when I am finishing my first. During my second lap I get overtaken by almost everyone else and in my third I jog round pretty much by myself! It could be demoralising but I some ways it’s nice just to settle into a rhythm with no distractions and keep going.
It’s good to see the real runners and they are a friendly bunch. They often say a few words of encouragement as they speed past ! And I don’t worry so much about being at the back – the real race is with myself.
Well the results are out now. I have improved on my last time by 67s! I am so pleased! My next target is to improve my distance on my long run tomorrow, I’m aiming for 6 miles of steady jogging. It’s going to be an early start to get that in before my spa day but at least I will have a massage to look forwards to afterwards!
I’ll let you know how it goes! Mawil xx

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

