What a week

Eight days to go until my first real race. I’m doing the Manchester bupa 10k next Sunday. This should have been, I think, my last real training week but 4 whole days have passed without going for a run. It’s been hectic at work with long days, no time for even 6am runs! Next week my schedule is lighter but I think I should be ‘tapering’. Does someone who is so slow need to taper? I think a couple of runs over the weekend and a short jog on weds/thurs will be ok that will give my muscles time to recover but not seize up.
I did a 1 hr treadmill run today at the gym. It was good somehow I feel cleansed!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, middle aged women, running, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a week

  1. John says:

    I think the runs you’ve planned should be ok. You don’t really need to taper as such, just get a couple of days rest in before the day. Start off at your own pace and don’t be worried by the amount of people sprinting past, I passed a load of them who were either walking or had slowed right down a mile down the road. It’s the same weekend as the the rugby league Magic Weekend so Manchester will be packed, try and get there earlier if you can. The train was a nightmare last year and that was without the rugby on the same day. The first game is at three on Sunday so it might be ok. Finally, enjoy it! I loved it last year the crowds at atmosphere was great.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for the tips. I’m apprehensive about the crowds but also curious about the atmosphere! I’m looking forwards to it now but just planning to take it easy and finish

      • John says:

        Thats what I did, my goal was to finish which I did. I had planned to do it this year but a calf prob put paid to that.

Leave a Reply

