A bedtime story.

Once upon a time there was a brain that lived in a body. For forty five years the brain overpowered the body. It bullied and abused the poor body, mainly ignoring it whilst it amused itself with books and TV and intellectual challenges but using it to take it where it wanted to go, criticising it when it didn’t meet the brain’s ideal of fashion or beauty and completely ignoring any contribution that the body might make to the life of the brain.
One day the brain made the body start running to satisfy the ego ‘don’t you dare let me down by not being able to get around this 5k in front of my friends’ the big bully said.
So the poor submissive body did as it was told. Even though the lungs were hot and bursting (the legs were always ok – not enough cardiovascular reserve to allow the legs to get tired!) or it was cold or dark or raining, brain was in charge and said ‘we are going running, I have boxes that need ticking in my diary and this time you need to work a little harder please’ ( although bossy the brain was quite polite).
So the body did its best and the brain was surprised to find that the body was achieving the goals on the brains checklist. Not only that but the brain found that the body changed and stopped bothering it with stuff. No more waking in the night with reflux when the brain was trying to sleep. No more asking brain to find a different way to the office to avoid carrying bags up the stairs. The brain started to chill out a bit. Sometimes it just switched off and left the body in charge for a while jogging by the canal. ‘Mm you’re not so bad after all’ the brain said to the body. ‘Likewise’ said the body. And they lived longer and happier ever after than they would have done if they hadn’t become friends. The end.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, middle aged women, running, sensitive people, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

