How was it for me?

Well I have done it, 10k and I finished! I did see the road sweepers on the opposite side of the dual carriageway but they were 4k behind us.
It was an interesting day. I woke up feeling a bit tired and grumpy and worried that I had ‘peaked’ yesterday. I ate a normal breakfast and had some extra water. I felt sick in the car. When we got there it seemed lonely in that big crowd and I wished I had a running buddy. I felt guilty that I wasn’t raising money for charity.

We set off and I felt a bit vulnerable with crowds by the road looking at us but I had to concentrate on the route and before you know it 2k had gone.
The nerves settled and it was possible to relax – I just kept up steady jogging. The water station was welcome as was the shower! Seeing my Hubby and son at 7k gave me a boost when I needed it though my son said I looked like a running tomato with my big red face!
A surprise for me was that I managed to keep up a steady jog most of the way around – that must be the adrenaline rush/ support that people talk about.
Then it was over! I can’t believe I did it.
This time last year I doubted my ability to do 5k and now I have done 10.
All thanks to practice and perseverance.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in bupa 10k, fitness, middle aged women, running, sensitive people, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How was it for me?

  1. John says:

    How was the heat?

    • mawil1 says:

      Not as bad as I thought it might be but I wished i’d taken some water with me. I do find that I get dried salt residue on my face though! Is that normal?

      • John says:

        It certainly is normal. I watched part of the race on TV this morning, feeling really jealous!

      • mawil1 says:

        Sorry that you couldn’t be there. There’s always next year, so lots of time to get ready and have a really great experience! You know the kind where you sail along effortlessly making your own breeze! (It’s a dream of mine)! I’ll stop worrying about the salt now, thank you!

  2. Congrats on finishing your 10k. I just recently started running and getting back into shape and I am already seeing the results. I hope to do at least one 5k this summer. Reading this definitely inspired me to push myself even more. Best of luck with everything and never stop running 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks! Good luck with your training. Its so motivating when you see progess isnt it? Just steady effort did it for me. I look forwards to reading about your progress and 5k!

Leave a Reply

