Fitting it all in

One of the ‘downsides’ of running is that you need to do it regularly to make progress and ‘finding the time’ is always an issue. However one of the benefits is that it is such a time efficient form of exercise.
Now I’m not going to get all preachy about this and tell you that of course you have time – sometimes you don’t.

05-martin-king-010909_14089_600x450[1]

I have been there with working days where I leave the house at 7 am and get back at 9pm. At these times its just food and bed.

Or when ‘sunny’ was a baby ( so called because I love him so much that I’m in danger of thinking the sun shines out of his arse) I didn’t get to sit down with a cup of tea for 6 months never mind spend time alone doing something selfish like exercise (or sleep). But these times don’t last forever.

Before I started running I didn’t think that I had the time but one of the great things about couch to 5k was that it is time based. To be fair I didn’t follow it exactly, as I found that I couldn’t do the ‘5 minutes steady run’, I just got the gist of it and gave myself permission to do whatever I could for 20 minutes, 10 out, 10 back. The key to making this work though is being honest with yourself and if you can run you do run rather than letting yourself have a bit more walking.

So making it fit in? Well one of my best runs was one evening when I made lasagne for dinner. I assembled it ready for the oven, put my kit on , put the lasagne in the oven, out the door for 20 minutes and then home to the delicious smell of cooked food. OK, I did sit down to dinner in my running kit but the family coped!
The point is that there is no way that I could have gone to the gym in that time – it takes 15 minutes just to get there – and nobody missed me for the 20minutes I would have otherwise been pottering in the kitchen.

My other issue is having a babysitter. Hubby and I both work long hours and its my job to get back for the childminder at 7:30. After quality time, bed time, etc it’s about 8:30 when hubby rolls in and usually that’s when I cook dinner. Obviously I want to spend time with him so then it’s about 9:30/10pm. I have been to the gym at this time and this does have its advantages, like having your pick of the equipment, but its not the best for a good nights sleep and I feel like a saddo.
So early morning it is. Hubby is not a morning person so I know that he doesn’t want to get up and go out which means that I can.
This is easy in the nice light days of summer and for some reason it’s usually dry at 6am. There is something very pleasant about having the world to yourself!

IMG_0126

Other top tips?
Stretching.
As a middle aged woman I drink lots of cups of tea. When I’m waiting for the kettle to boil I do stretches.
Core strength.
Sunny is 9, so sometimes of an evening if we are just watching tv I challenge him to a competition. Who can hold a plank or a bridge or a side plank for the longest time. He usually wins (I don’t have to pretend to lose) and he loves it.
Single parent?
This is where it gets difficult and my heart goes out to anyone trying to raise a family on their own. When hubby isn’t around I get sunny to accompany me on his bike. It’s not easy to match our paces; sometimes he goes too fast, sometimes he gets tired before I do, but its better than nothing and its good for his fitness too.

If you are struggling to find time then I hope this helps you to think of new ways!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

