Back in the saddle!

Since my 10k I have found lots of excuses not to go running. Too busy at work. Allowing myself to rest. This morning instead of going to Parkrun I switched off the alarm. Why? Did I really need the sleep? Or was I just scared, scared that it would hurt? Scared that I wouldn’t match my PB? To cap it all this afternoon I felt cold and tired so I had an afternoon nap. Then it occurred to me that I was still trying to keep my calories down on non run days. Could I be slowing down my metabolic rate?
So I took my own advice. I got changed, put the joint in the oven and got Sunny to come out on his bike. We did a lovely 5k by the canal, having not been that way for a couple of weeks. The place had completely changed – spring has finally sprung!

20130601-210545.jpg
When we got back I felt refreshed and invigorated. Now planning my long run for tomorrow!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

