What to wear?

This morning I awoke to find that British Summertime had resumed normal service, ie it was slightly overcast and looked like rain. Well at least I didn’t have to think about what to wear,(shorts or not – so far the answer has always been not) and pulled leggings and a t-shirt out of the drawer.

As I was eating my toast I realised that I wouldn’t have time to run, shower and change before yoga. I have tried to fit in all in once before and ended up going into yoga in my sweaty running kit. The next day I commented to a friend at work about how, unusually for me, I had been chatted up by a man from yoga class. I pointed out how particularly strange it was as I was all red faced and sweaty from running, had no make up on and frizzy hair. ‘You were in your running kit?’ she asked. Yes. ‘Lycra pants?’ Yes. ‘Downward dog?’ Oooh!

So I went shopping for some proper yoga pants. Now if you are quite large in the derriere it isn’t easy to find pants that are loose in this area. Sorry sweaty betty, but those yoga pants of yours look like a snug pair of pensioner slacks on me. I went to John Lewis and found some lovely hareem pants. Nice soft jersey, really fine, lots of folds and a beatiful fold down waistband. Excitedley I took them to the changing room. They were a good fit and appeared loose in the right places. Just to be thorough (I’m that kind of girl) I turned my back to the mirror, bent over and stuck my head through my knees just to see how they looked from behind. I won’t describe to you the knickers I was wearing that day, but if I had forgotten I would have been able to from the view I got. Despite further searches I didn’t find anything better so I got the jersey hareem pants with a big pair of long legged trouser knickers to go under them.

I wore them today and nobody spoke to me so I guess thats OK then!

Well I haven’t blogged much about my running this week. To summarise I have done 11miles in 4 runs. I haven’t done a proper long run so I need to be fitting in an 11k somewhere soon.

Today we did a family run, ie I ran and Hubby and Son came out on ther bikes. I’m not sure how it fits into the grand scheme of things as we stopped halfway at the pub for refreshments! Last time I ran this way (no refreshemnts) I fell over and deeply grazed my hand, knee and belly. I think that I  must have been reaching out with my belly to break my fall.

Well its time to get everything ready for work tomorrow, so until next time adieu!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, CLOTHING, fitness, middle aged women, running, Uncategorized, working mum and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

