Change of heart

One of the things I have enjoyed about running is the changing seasons and scenery. Last summer was wet and muddy but in autumn I loved the orange leaves and colour. Winter I enjoyed because a mild frost made the ground firm enough to run on and in spring I really loved the early mornings. Summer has been good, warm, luscious and green so this evening I went for one of my favourite runs. I don’t normally run this route in the evening so I hadn’t realised that I would be running into the low rays of the sun. I couldn’t see and I tripped over tree roots again but by now I’ve got used to falling over. I didn’t even tense up or panic, just rolled over and got up uninjured! The thing that spoiled my favourite run was the flies. Whether I breathed in through my nose or mouth it didn’t stop me getting a midgie at the back of my throat. Unusually for me I was glad to get off the trail and onto the road.
So just under 7km tonight. I’m working on increasing my endurance. Still have the 11k to do before the weekend.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, fitness, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

