Parkrun

Saturday means Parkrun. Well sometimes Today was my 11th Parkrun in 10 months and guess what? It still takes me 38 minutes to do 5k. Apart from one blip where I managed 36 minutes.
The thing is that the runs I do at Parkrun are probably my best. Being in a timed event with other people motivates me to keep running and not walk. I suspect that when I run on my own although I am increasing my distance there is a fair amount of walking in there. At parkrun I usually manage to keep up a steady 12minute per mile pace (yes that wasn’t a typo. I know that no one ever quotes any speeds that slow in the running magazines/guides) whereas my runs at home are often slower.
it looks like if I want to be faster I am going to have to bite the bullet and start doing some proper interval/ fartleks type running. I have never done intervals and I suppose that my attempts at fartlek have been a bit half hearted – after 1 or 2 sprints I’m lucky if I can keep going.
It isn’t that I want to “win’ races or anything but I would like to see some personal improvement. Am I expecting too much?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, middle aged women, parkrun, reading, running, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Parkrun

  1. Pingback: Hit an all time low | fatness to fitness, our journey

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi, Sorry to hear that you are having a difficult time. Life can be hard when you have alot of responsibilities (ie both parents and children who need caring for). Keep up with the walking, it’s a good way to keep fit and you can add in bits of jogging as you feel ready. I hope that you are feeling better soon.

  2. Thanks for the “pingback”. Keeping the same time is fine. To up your pace you just need to be convinced you can do it. Part of that is the biomechanics of your legs turning over faster or a longer stride. The stride length is not comfortably going to increase.

    So here is what you do. Find a long 400 metres (minimum) hill with a nice shallow gradient decline and run down it – a bit quicker then a bit quicker. Once you know you can do the speed required the hill sessions and the fartlek come in.

    We have 12, 13 and sometimes 14 min / mile runners all enjoying being out. Perhaps no medals for speed but that’s not what any of us want!

  3. Just spotted this

    THIS means you can DO 36 minutes not that 38 is the norm!

  4. Pingback: the best parkrun blog | the5krunner

Leave a Reply

