long think short run.

After yesterday’s post I had quite a long think. I was so disappointed to think that I hadn’t ‘improved’ in the last 10 months, a conclusion I came to when reviewing the times of my 10 parkruns since September.

 Of course I have improved since my first walk -run in April 2012 because  now I can move in a way that I consider to be running, (though I appreciate that it might look like a shuffle to the outsider). I have done a 10k which I wouold have thought impossible a year ago and I did manage to improve my parkrun time once!

So why does it matter? I should just be running because I love it and enjoy it shouldn’t I?

Well I do, but part of that enjoyment is thinking that it is doing me good and I am getting fitter. If I thought that I wasn’t ever going to run further or faster (or that it was going to get easier) then I would find it hard to keep going.

So I’m going to try to get faster. I have avoided doing any interval training before because its a bit difficult: remembering what I am supposed to do,trying to find somewhere flat, estimating the right distance (not one of my skills). I could do it by time, but one of the problems of being middle aged is that despite having a fantastic garmin sportswatch, I can’t read the dial without my glasses!

Maybe the treadmill is the answer? I went to the gym. Imagine my surprise to find that there is a button on there for ‘intervals’! After a play around deciding what was jogging speed and running speed I think I have worked it out, so there’s no excuse now! No slacking either. Its obvious if you slow down or stop on a treadmill, you can’t kid youself. My plan is to do an intervals/treadmill session once per week for the next 6 weeks and to see if it helps.

I’ll let you know!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, middle aged women, parkrun, running, time management, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to long think short run.

  1. It sounds like you have improved lots since you first started! It’s hard to see that yourself though sometimes and it’s easy to get frustrated when the numbers don’t go down in the way you hoped. Intervals are a great way to improve speed and cardiovascular fitness as our hill reps. I’m sure you’ll start to see even more progress if you incorporate them into your training schedule. They are always a bit painful but so worth it 🙂

Leave a Reply

