Do you love maps?

I love maps. I have just been out and bought not 1 but 2, and I had to exercise some restraint. (That’s the only exercise I have done this week – painful chest infection with a productive cough so struggling with talking never mind running).
We have booked a short break in the Lake District for July and I’m planning to introduce my son to hill walking. I get excited looking at the map when I see a nice path coming from the village and along a ridge I just know that it will be a beautiful walk straight away and he will love it. I also got one of the wainwright guides. Who can resist a book that has been so lovingly written by someone who knows the fells like old friends? Here is the dedication.

20130628-122834.jpg
Although I would not go fell walking on my own I appreciate the feeling.
I also bought a map of Lancaster and fleetwood. I have signed up to do a half marathon in Lancaster so I want to look at the route and I have heard that fleetwood is a nice flat course so I might just take myself up there one weekend for a run for fun!
The only time I did meet a whole group of map obsessives was when I was an anatomy teacher. It used to be commonplace that if you wanted to do surgery as a career that you would spend a year teaching anatomy at the university, so that your own knowledge would be excellent. I was in a group of 12 for my year. During our first week we were sitting in the coffee room and someone commented on the large number of atlases and maps dotted around the room. There was a short silence. ‘I love maps’ a quiet voice said. ‘So do I’ said another. And lo and behold we realised that we had found our spiritual home with a group of geeky anatomy/ map freaks. What with that and the lunchtime beers we soon bonded.
When you are trying to find places to run (especially off road) nothing beats a map. I tried plotting some of my runs on Map my run but it only does roads so in my opinion it misses all the best stuff.
So is it just us funny anatomy types that like maps or are there more of us out there? What do the rest of you do? There and back all the time? I always plan a circular route so that I have to finish it!
Happy running, with or without maps!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, maps, middle aged women, reading, running, sensitive people, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Do you love maps?

  1. John says:

    I like maps and diagrams of all types, infographics are a big favorite of mine. I do a combination of there and back and circular runs, and I love looking at the map of the route later, that is sad I know!

Leave a Reply

