Time out week

I was going to call this post washout week but decided to be more positive. Having had a bad chest all week I haven’t been running. Last night though I slept through without a coughing fit and woke up at 10:30! An amazingly long lie in of the kind I haven’t had since BC (before child ). So that was beneficial.
At my weigh in I have gained 2lb which is sad but not the end of the world. I haven’t been calorie counting this week, haven’t cooked much and we did have a huge ready made curry the other night so I can’t claim to be shocked or that its unfair.
I’m worried that I will be losing fitness but then I think maybe its time for a fresh start anyway, take a few steps back and consider it a run -up to better performance and fitness. So what do I need to think about?
nutrition
This is my third chest infection in 6 months. Normally I’m either really well ( or I never noticed before because I wasn’t physically active). We know that glycogen depletion can make you prone to infections so I need to pay more attention to carbs pre and post exercise. I’m bad at the post exercise bit. Also maybe making sure I have some protein on the evening to enhance muscle building (see later). Finally maybe I should consider taking a vitamin supplement. I eat loads of fruit and veg etc so my head says that I don’t need it but I might just give it a try.
muscle
I have mentioned body fat in a previous post. Mine was over 38pc when I started running and is down to 35 now. Although I think that makes me obese (normal being 25to32) I don’t think that I look obese, I am 5 ft 2 and wear a uk size 12 very comfortably. However I can’t help but think that if I had more muscle and less fat I would have a higher metabolism, keep me warm In winter , produce more energy for running and make me faster , make me stronger and improve my running endurance etc.
intervals
Got to start doing some interval training if I want to go faster.

I have a gym membership so I think that it’s time to start using it and I should aim to do weights once per week and maybe do a treadmill/interval session once per week. Maybe I will enlist the help of one of the trainers.

Anyway that’s a plan but for now its definitely going in the tomorrow box. A short walk around the shops has left me exhausted so I am planning an afternoon nap. I think better to wait another week if necessary and start with enthusiasm than try to do it when I am already shattered.

I hope this finds everyone else injury and infection free!
Jxx

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, middle aged women, running, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Time out week

  1. John says:

    Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather. I felt a bit crappy few weeks ago then developed shingles. Which is a pain (literally) but is mild thankfully.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks. I hope that you are feeling better soon shingles is said to be really painful. The running is like a roller coaster. One minute you feel great and strong then when it all goes you feel worse! I’m sure that it will level out eventually!

  2. Sorry to hear you’ve been poorly – I’m sure you’ll be 100% soon. Don’t rush back and make sure your first week of running is shorter runs and easy pace. Also make sure you’re getting enough protein. Carbs are essential for fuelling your body but you need protein to help repair it. Whenever I am low on protein I feel run down… GWS 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Frances its good to hear what works for others. I will take it slowly when I go back. I might go back to the beginning with couch to 5k then when I feel fitter I can do it with more oomph !

Leave a Reply

