Minor Illness officially over.

Today I’m back to normal, or at least as near to normal as I ever get. Some people refer to their heart as their ‘ticker’ but instead of clockwork I think that I got a little bouncy ball. Today it’s bouncing along nicely with quite a bit of bounce but still controllable. Possibly on the edge of being one of those super balls that you bounce and whoops it’s gone over the wall and onto the roof of the neighbours garage.
For the last couple of weeks it’s been like a cold squash ball. ‘Ha ha!'(caught you out) you say ‘what would you know about squash balls -you told us you weren’t sporty!’ Suffice to say I did try squash back in the early 80′ s but failed at the first hurdle ie warming up the ball. No matter how hard I hit it, it would just slump to the floor and I would have to do that particular walk of shame, to the front of the court to pick it up and try again.
So today I bounced out of bed at 8 to sort out houseguests who had to leave early, did a bit of laundry then went to yoga. After yoga I swam 500m.
I have reviewed my food diary on ‘my fitness pal’ and observed that in general my diet is too high in fat (more than 30 percent of calories from fat). ‘They’ say small changes are the most effective so my plan is to swap my morning toast ( with 15g fat in the form of butter) for a low fat low sugar cereal like weetabix or porridge.
In addition my lunches for the week ( salad, rice and lentils) have been prepared and are stacked in the fridge.
A word about lentils. High protein low fat. I have discovered merchant gourmet ready cooked puy lentils with porcini.

20130707-154114.jpg

They are actually very tasty but I’m afraid to say it does look like poo when you spoon it out of the packet! See for yourself;

20130707-154023.jpg
Well must get along as there is a costume for a school play to make and a talk to write for Tuesday. Will let you know how I get on at the gym tomorrow. Xx

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, fitness, fun, middle aged women, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Minor Illness officially over.

  1. John says:

    Hmm. looks… lovely.

Leave a Reply

