Gym bunny? Funny mummy!

Today was my intro to the gym session. I went a bit early and did my 3rd week 1run on the treadmill. My intro was with a lovely young woman who was really positive and encouraging.
In fact my routine doesn’t use much of the gym equipment, it consists of single leg squats, lunges, burpees with my hands on a bench, press ups from my knees, and stepping up onto a bench and balancing on one leg. Oh and doing a plank whilst twisting a wobble board.
I know that (to you) that might not sound very taxing but I do need to work on my balance and strength and these exercises do highlight what’s missing. Although I have tried doing squats and lunges at home, it was useful to do them with someone who checks that you’re getting the technique right.
In all I think that she’s pitched it at the right level for me, easy enough to do and keep doing but hard enough to work those muscles and strengthen them.
So,Time well spent today. It did dawn on me that I have an awful lot of work to do if I am going to manage this half marathon. At the same time I feel that it will be possible. I am so lucky to have a supportive husband -I only hope that his enthusiasm lasts!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in charity, fitness, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Gym bunny? Funny mummy!

  1. John says:

    Just keep going, easier said than done!

  2. I’d be happy to help with your charity work if you need the odd cartoon.

    • mawil1 says:

      That’s really kind thank you! I’m still discussing with my team about what we want to raise money for. There’s a new piece of equipment coming out which allows you to remove small cancers intact so we are trying to work out how much we would use it ( don’t want to buy something that sits o
      In a cupboard) and also how much it costs ( waiting for quote but we think about 70k) once we have agreed I’m going to do a push for publicity/charity. Thanks again for your kind offer I will get back to you!

Leave a Reply

