Fashion and running

I’m well aware that ‘real’ runners don’t have to do fashion. I know that you don’t need all that fancy kit. I have had ‘real’ runners sprint past me in a pair of tatty old jersey jogging bottoms and (can you believe it! lol) an old cotton t shirt who don’t seem to be suffering from a lack of wicking or cool max or dry fit or whatever.

However for me fashion and running do intertwine a little. Apart from the initial embarrassment the first time I went out in Lycra tights it did make me feel better to have something comfortable and with a top in a colour I liked.

As we seem to be having a heat wave I decided to buy a pair of shorts. I do have a black baggy pair (which I bought to wear over tights in the cold and to cover my bum) but they don’t look good with bare legs and make my bum look huge (as opposed to merely big which it is). So before yoga I nipped into sweatshop at the gym and in the sale found a nice pair of pale blue shorts with fluorescent yellow trim by Adidas. I already have a yellow Adidas top which I bought in winter for high viz purposes.

At home My husband was greatly amused to find me trying on my shorts and various combinations to see ‘what goes with what’ as he thinks it obviously doesn’t matter. It doesn’t matter but I still like to make the effort.

The other fashion related issue to do with running is – can you believe it- weight loss! I got out last summers holiday clothes to try on and they don’t fit – too big. So the question is what to do with them?
This is my 3rd cycle of weight gain and loss over 10 years. I gained after getting married and lost it ( the Atkins diet) when trying to conceive. I put loads on during pregnancy then later lost it (weight watchers) I kept it off for 3 or 4 years but then it started to creep on again.
In the past I have always got rid of clothes that are too big, gleefully donating them to charity thinking that I will never gain weight again. Clothes that become too small – well anything that’s loved gets kept in the hope that it will fit again one day.
The paradox is that when you are slim it is much easier to find clothes that suit you, and you are much more likely to spend money and consider it a worthwhile investment. When you gain it’s so much harder to find anything that looks good, so surely if I had some clothes that looked OK should I keep them just in case? Is that too negative or is it realism based on past experience? I don’t know, but for now those clothes are going in a case under the bed and I will think about it later.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in CLOTHING, fashion, fitness, fun, half marathon, healthy diet, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fashion and running

  1. John says:

    Keep them under the bed and if you keep on running for long enough they’ll be back in fashion one day. Then you can sell them as vintage.

Leave a Reply

