Not so serious!

I was supposed to do fartlek yesterday.
Despite the low fat lentil lunch I didn’t make it! I knew my husband was going to be late back so from work (10pm) so I should have gone in the morning but Wednesday is my operating day and I need to be out of the house at 7. It isn’t so much the early start that puts me off (i would have had to run at 5:30) as the focus. All the while I was running I would be stressing a about getting back on time getting showered and presentable and I need a ‘quiet mind’ to operate- especially if I’m doing a reconstruction. I’m making assumptions though- for all I know I might do better after a run! I should try it sometime.

On the subject of the low fat lentil lunch there was an article in runners world magazine about high carbohydrate /low fat diets. ‘Oh no!’I thought ‘just when I have made the change!’ Imagine how amused I was to find that their idea of a low carb high fat diet was the same as my idea of a low fat high carb diet! Ie 25 percent of calories from fat 50percent from carbohydrate ! I’m obviously not indigenous to planet runner!

Still on the subject of healthy diet. Yesterday I ate a protein bar when I felt hungry at about 5pm. Maxi fuel do an edible choc/orange one. Only half the calories that a chocolate bar would have, but it satisfied the hunger and any chocolate cravings and left me feeling full for hours! I think that they might be handy for the handbag.

Today my training plan calls for a long run. Again I could have got up early but I didn’t so I’m planning a cooler evening session.
Tomorrow is a rest day. Do you think that I could call yesterday rest and do my fartleks tomorrow? Or just forget about Wednesday? Saturday is an easy run. I think I’ll decide that tomorrow!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in book reviews, fitness, half marathon, healthy diet, high protein, low fat, middle aged women, muscle building, reading, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

