Mawil may have broken laws re trespass………

Yay I did it! I got my sorry self out of bed before 7:30 and went for a run. As predicted it was lovely and cool with a nice breeze.
Now there’s something that I haven’t been telling you. My local park has a running track. I don’t think that it is meant for public use as there is a fence around it with a locked gate. But the fence is only waist high.
I have never been on it – until today!
It’s been one of those days where everything has just gone right. Woke up early, cool day no rain. My son was up ‘ would you like to come out on your bike and time me on the track ‘ I asked. ‘OK ‘ he said. No whinge. No bribe. So off we went. 2miles jog to the track.

20130721-114802.jpg

Hopped over the fence. Then a couple of people appeared at the other side of the track. They were looking at me. I wondered if there was an event planned for later on in the day. I wondered if they were officials a out to question me about being on the track. I started to jog round and then so did they. They obviously had the same idea as me !

I tried to do my intervals, getting joe to do the stopwatch. I was supposed to do 3minutes fast and 1.5 recovery. It took me 2.5 to get round the track once at a good pace and it was hard work! So I ‘customised’ my workout to be a run as fast as you can lap alternating with a jog/walk lap. I did 3 fast 2 slow.

Interestingly my son was inspired by this and decided to run a lap with me. He made it look easy! It was fun having him there. I’d be so pleased if he took up running!

Then we jogged home but there was a lot of walking involved as joe was tired!

So I think I’m ‘back on track’ (pun not intentional) for now. Tomorrow calls for a 40 minute easy run AND 20 minutes body conditioning !

Serious health and fitness! Who would have thought this could happen to me!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in breaking rules, charity, fitness, fun, half marathon, interval training, middle aged women, running, time management, track session, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mawil may have broken laws re trespass………

  1. John says:

    In all seriousness, trespass is a serious offence. I feel like I should report you to the relevant authorities.

    • John says:

      I am joking, but you gave me an idea on this afternoons run. There is a sports stadium near us so I did a detour on the way home. I got some of the way in, but the fence was a fair bit higher than waist high. So I’ll have to leave the laps for another day, or find a lower fence!

Leave a Reply

