Advice please? (Post run back stiffness)

Following yesterday’s interval session which left me feeling quite pleased with myself, the payback.
Yesterday evening I started to get some discomfort and stiffness in my lower back. I did some yoga moves and lower back type exercises to try to stretch it out but it seemed to get worse! This morning it’s a bit better. I’m off work today so I’m trying to keep moving by doing some housework but I’m restricted In leaning over from the waist.
I had this a few weeks ago and someone suggested that it might be time to renew my trainers ( going to do that today).
I was doing more sprinting, knees higher, running more on my forefoot yesterday.
Is this just me using new muscle groups and something I need to get used to? Might I be doing something wrong?
My post run stretches usually include quads hamstrings calves piriformis. I do low back exercises, pelvic tilts , knees over to the side, bridges and planks. Last night I struggled to do a bridge though.
If anyone has been through this (and come out the other side) I would be interested to hear how you managed it.
Thanks!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, fitness, half marathon, interval training, middle aged women, muscle building, running, track session, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

