Deep psoas stretch

I have been doing some research (and experimentation) regarding my back.
The problem with my back hasn’t really been pain, just very stiff and difficult to move.
I know that people who do a lot of sitting around (ie desk workers) get shortening of their psoas and hip flexors and this can cause problems for runners. Psoas attaches to the top of the femur and crosses inside the pelvis to attach to the lumbar spine. As it gets shorter it pulls the lumbar spine forwards causing it to be more curved, if the muscles around the back aren’t strong enough to hold it in place.
Because I had been sprinting my hip flexors, including psoas, must have done more work than usual (I was aware of picking my knees up more) and so they tightened up. Although I stretch my quads post exercise I don’t do a specific stretch for psoas. ( I’m thinking now that I should!)
I went swimming yesterday and did some stretches in the pool which was useful as the water gives alot of support and balance isn’t an issue. It didn’t sort it though. All day I kept trying to stretch it out to no avail
Then last night I found something that did the trick. I positioned my self lying a cross the arm of the sofa with my back supported by cushions on the sofa with my hips right on The edge of the arm. You need to get into this position with your hips flexed. Then hugging one knee to my chest I extended the other leg and let it dangle, the weight of the leg extending the hip joint. There was some slightly sickening but satisfying clunking noises/ feelings from my back and then an instant improvement in mobility. If you try to dangle both legs it just arches your back and that made the discomfort worse and that’s why you need to hug one of your knees, to stop your back over arching.
This also works on the dining room table!
So I will be doing more of that and adding it to my routine stretches! If all goes well today I will try to run later.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, fitness, half marathon, interval training, middle aged women, muscle building, running, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

