What I did on my holidays part 1

It’s been a few days since I wrote anything on my blog. To update, after the back episode and the ‘clunk click’ exercises things started to improve.
We are now on holiday in the Lake District. ( Despite weather warnings we haven’t seen any rain at all.) Although I brought 5 sets of running kit (but have forgotten my evening shoes and underwear ! ) I haven’t yet been for a run.
On Thursday we walked up ‘little man’ of skiddaw, about 3 miles but 700m ascent and yesterday we walked up grisedale pike, about 7 miles walking but again a 700m climb. (See picture below) We managed about 1 mile per hour both times! I worried that it wasn’t exercise enough to count as training for my half.
Today my muscles ache so I must have done something worthwhile? I like to think that all that climbing is ‘strength training’ and that all the food I’m eating ( who can resist a traditional English cooked breakfast?) is keeping me in ‘positive energy balance ‘ and promoting some muscle building.

20130727-155308.jpg
It has been fun though. The weather has been great and I think Joe has enjoyed it too. His favourite bit so far, he says, is when we stopped for lunch and I lay back on the grass. As I stretched out my arms he noticed a squashed bug in my armpit. It must have landed there when I held my arms out to cool down in the breeze but sadly didn’t fly away quickly enough. Now I can add ‘insecticide’ to ‘trespass’ on my crime sheet!
Off now to include some swimming to my exercise tally.
I am also reading Andy Holgate’s book ‘Can’t swim ride run, from common man to iron man’.

20130727-161229.jpg

<a
It's really inspiring and I am enjoying it from the comfort of my armchair! Sadly the bit of me that gets the most exercise is my imagination!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in book reviews, CLOTHING, fitness, fun, half marathon, healthy diet, middle aged women, muscle building, reading, running, stretching, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I did on my holidays part 1

  1. John says:

    You’re very lucky with the weather, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

