A lifetime first!

Today I did something that I’ve never done before. I swam a length of front crawl!
I only learned to swim as an adult and once I could cross the pool without thinking that I was going to drown I was happy. So I have always swum breast stroke. Now that I’m getting a little bit fitter I want to push myself which means being able to swim faster which means doing front crawl.
Here we are on holiday with a convenient pool so I asked my son to teach me. It’s taken 3 days to get the hang of it but we have done it!
I feel better about trying it out in the pool at the gym now.
It’s never too late to learn something new- even if you have to be taught by an 8 year old!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, half marathon, middle aged women, muscle building, running, stretching, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A lifetime first!

  1. Even better to be taught by your son!

  2. pwhent says:

    Congratulations! I can’t recommend swimming highly enough. I used to just run but decided to try triathlon just over a year ago. Since I added swim training to my routine my fitness levels have soared and all without bashing any leg joints. Stick with it – it is so worth it!!

Leave a Reply

