What I did on my holidays part 2

After a few days in the Lake District we had a day at home to reorganise before heading off to Paris. I managed to fit in a 4k run which was good although my pace was slightly slower than usual.
After my abysmal performance in the lakes, I only packed two sets of running kit for paris. even so these were the only clothes I took that didn’t get sweaty! It was so hot! 32C!

I don’t know why I didn’t run in the morning like I did in Rome last year. Partly I was worried about getting lost. Partly about safety. We came so close to being pick pocketed.
One day we were having breakfast and I had put my purse on the table. Two guys came up one from each side pushing a paper for me to read in front of me ( hiding my purse). A French guy on the next table spotted what was happening and stood up and started shouting at them. I don’t know what he said but they ran off. So much for Parisians being snooty and rude, I’m really grateful to him.
Paris otherwise lived up to its reputation for being beautiful. The louvre was stunning both as a beautiful building and so many amazing paintings in each room.
The other reputation we encountered was that for rats! One morning we were walking down the road and we saw a man chase a rat out of his shop then beat it to death with a broom. Part of me felt a bit guilty being the witness to the brutal murder of an animal but at the same time I wouldn’t want rats in my home or any restaurant I visited. Also I couldn’t help but admire the man’s speed and skill ! Needless to say we didn’t eat down that street!
So I didn’t run in Paris. It was too hot and despite air conditioning I didn’t sleep well. Back in Lancashire it’s cool and drizzly. Looking forwards to a good nights sleep and an early run!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, half marathon, holidays, middle aged women, paris, running, sightseing, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

