Catch up on the weeks training

This week I have managed 3 runs totalling 8 miles. Not as good as I hoped/planned but not bad either.

On Monday I did 40 mins easy before work.
Wednesday I missed because of a long day at work,
Thursday I was ‘too tired’ (yes I know, how lame is that)
Friday am I forced myself out at 6:30 am in the rain because of guilt about Thursday.
When I stepped out the first thing I saw was a rainbow! That cheered me up but I don’t have a picture. I’d opted for the ‘up and out’ tactic so this was a fairly gadget free run, no hr monitor , no phone just my garmin watch. I was a bit short on time so I limited myself to 20 minutes.

In the end I think that was a good idea. Because I’m supposed to be training for the half I’ve got into a mindset where I think that every session has got to be at least 40 minutes, but Friday reminded me that a short run is better than no run at all and let’s face it can be quite refreshing. Also you could potentially push the pace a bit harder in a short run.

Today I was still feeling a bit lazy. I wanted to go for a run but I didn’t want to over tax myself and I had to take joe as my husband is working. I decided to drive to avenham park in Preston. It’s a pleasant park, it has a 1 mile lap, it’s fairly flat (especially compared to anywhere near home) and suitable for joe to go on his bike. We did 4 laps.
After the first I was reasonably settled and felt like I could have done at least one more, but I decided not to because of some of my more enthusiastic sessions recently have left me with nasty back ache which has stopped me running for the rest of the week.
Discretion being the better part of valour and all that I decided to run away and live to run another day!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, half marathon, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catch up on the weeks training

  1. John says:

    … I decided to run away and live to run another day! spot on!

Leave a Reply

