Random thoughts about running and blogging .

When I started this blog my plan was to generate some interest in my running to support some fundraising. However often things turn out differently to the way you planned, sometimes in a good way. I didn’t anticipate reading other people’s blogs which have been a great source of amusement, inspiration and support. So thank you to my fellow bloggers – you know who you are!

This weeks training summary
Short run Monday
20mins rowing Wednesday
20 mins swimming Thursday
Long run today (Sunday) 5 miles.

Today’s run was ok. As always started slow and got a bit faster when heart and lungs got the message (after the first mile) that we were in run mode. Should have done a run yesterday too really. although the rowing and swimming is cardio I’m not sure it helps with getting better at running. I only have 9 weeks to get my endurance up by another 8 miles. I am feeling apprehensive about this.

Plan for next week? Try to get 3 short runs in before Sunday and do 6 miles on Sunday.
When I went swimming there were quite a few people in the pool so I was too embarrassed / chicken to try my front crawl. So somewhere I need to add a late swim when it’s quiet so that I can see if I can still do it/ work on it.

I did manage some one legged squats and lunges whilst doing ‘stuff ‘ in the kitchen. I didn’t quite get around to the burpees though.
Will go and do some now! Why not do some with me? I’m going to do 10.
Lol! Julie

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, charity, fitness, half marathon, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Random thoughts about running and blogging .

  1. mawil1 says:

    I have done my 10 burpees!

    • John says:

      After reading your post I was going to do some burpees with you, but since you’ve done them already I’ll leave it. I’m off for a run instead.

  2. Ed Mahoney says:

    I’m surprised that people read my blog. Occasionally I can write something exciting when I have a race, but it’s 90% inane rhetoric on my weekend workouts. You take great photos.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for your comments. I think that my blog is innane also but beng a woman I suppose that I’m more inclined towards pointless chatter! You might have guessed that I spend more time reading and writing about running than running! It helps with motivation as I’m not naturally sporty!

Leave a Reply

