When the going gets tough….

20130822-123413.jpg
People say that running is ‘all in the mind’ , believing that you can do it, then doing it. But there’s a gap between thinking ‘I can do it’ and believing ‘I can do it’. How do we close that gap? ( answers very welcome!!!)
I’m guessing that regular training, regular achievement of your goals goes a long way to helping you believe and so setting the right goals is important, goals that you can achieve but not so easy that it doesn’t feel like an achievement.
Today I didn’t have an easy run and I’m trying to work out why.
I woke up at 6:30 and could have gone then but I think that the reason I didn’t was that I didn’t have a firm plan. I had the morning off work so I had breakfast (rather that running on empty which I often do first thing) and dropped my son at holiday club. I had dressed in running gear so I was ready, but I found that I was low on clothes having done more running than laundry this week! Mulling it over in the car I couldn’t decide what to do, how far to run, where to run. Part of me was thinking about a long run but some where deep in my subconscious something was saying ‘ no that’s too hard you might get injured or just not make it round’
In the end I decided to do a cross country route that I hadn’t done for a while. It goes along some hilly fields and along side an old mill race then some woods. It’s a pretty run so I thought that would help to motivate me.

20130822-124958.jpg
Running on the rough grass was hard work after all the smooth surfaces I have done recently. And I’d forgotten about the cows. Last time I came this way the farmer had them indoors because of the freezing weather. Today I had to pick my way around 200m of ankle deep slurry ( not mud- I’d say 80pc cow manure) yuk!
Although the track was lovely I came to one bit I wasn’t sure about. In these parts there is a plant called giant hogweed and if the sap gets on your skin it burns.

20130822-125713.jpg
I was worried that the stuff on the right might be it. It was impossible to avoid touching it. I didn’t think that it was so I went through but I stressed about it until I got home and checked my skin for marks!
As you can see I stopped a few times for pictures as the running never really got into a rhythm. And I saw a deer on the woods which was lovely but too fast for a picture!
So I came home and have started the laundry. That way I’ll at least have seething to wear for my next planned run. I’m going to make the effort to get up for Parkrun on Saturday and I’m going to get my kit and barcode ready NOW so that on Saturday I just get up and go.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, fitness, half marathon, middle aged women, parkrun, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to When the going gets tough….

  1. > But there’s a gap between thinking ‘I can do it’ and believing ‘I can do it’. How do we close that gap? ( answers very welcome!!!)

    The way I see it is that all you have to do is suspend disbelief (while being realistic).

    So if you Parkrun PB is 28 minutes and you gave it all you’ve got then a target or wish / goal of 17 minutes is not going to happen. 26 with a view to sub 25 might be closer.

    All you need to do is suspend disbelief – assuming you are doing the miles – don’t worry about the Garmin too much, listen to your body and enjoy it!

    .

Leave a Reply

