Parkrun 24.08.13

First Parkrun today for quite a few weeks. Started at the back as usual but I was slightly taken by surprise when we took off and there was an immediate gap between the pack and me. I didn’t panic, told myself to keep it steady. Normally a few straggles start too fast and drop back. Today there was only 1!
Despite that I was really pushing myself. Apart from the first km my heartrate was at 90 percent max! When I finished I looked at map my run. It looked like I had done it in 33 minutes. I was elated! 3 minutes off my PB – all that effort had paid off! Then I put my glasses on. It was 39 minutes – 3 minutes slower! What a let down!
Conclusion- Parkrun makes me push myself in a way that I don’t on a normal run by myself so I should make the effort to do more

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Parkrun 24.08.13

  1. John says:

    Top tip, leave your glasses at home! Just joking, my times on my runs go up and down like that. I think its just part of the ebb and flow in my running.

  2. Pingback: Tamworth Parkrun | The Tri Road

  3. pwhent says:

    It’s difficult to believe it but those runs where you push yourself beyond where it is comfortable are the ones that make you faster. Keep up the good work!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks for the encouragement! It’s so hard to know sometimes, so many articles warn against over training, or not staying in the right heart rate band, or not having enough rest days. Fortunately I hadn’t read any of that before I did couch to 5k otherwise I think I’d still be walking!

Leave a Reply

