Exercising or exorcising the demon!

Today my training programme called for a long run and so building ten percent on last week meant that I was due to do 10k today.

I was a bit apprehensive about this because I haven’t done 10k since 3rd June. I did the BUPA 10k at the end of May, and 1 week after that tried to do a 10k route nearer home. It is the course for a 10k race held in February. After my 5k race for life in June 2012 I thought that I might do the Witton 10k in Feb 2013 but I was nowhere near ready. The course contains a 100m hill (379m of gain according to map my run, not sure exactly what that is but it sounds hard).

The day after I did it in June I developed quite severe back pain and it has taken 3 months since then to get back to that level of fitness. I don’t know if it was the hill, the road running (as opposed to trails) whether my shoes were past their best or maybe it was walking bent double pushing my sons bike up the hill that did it!
However the back pain knocked back my confidence as well as my running and I was quite apprehensive about today. I thought of doing a different route but decided to try the Witton route. The hill was hard going! I ended up walking up it but even that took my HR to 150! Having said that the long downhill did compensate quite a bit.
So far my back feels OK.
I’m glad that I did it but I’m planning a few flatter runs this week. Can’t believe that I’m looking for 12, 14 and 16 k routes to put in my diary!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in back pain, bupa 10k, fitness, fun, half marathon, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Exercising or exorcising the demon!

  1. joemacgown says:

    good luck with the training! flat runs are nice, aren’t they!

Leave a Reply

