The chassis is too big for the engine!

The week isn’t complete until tomorrow when I do my long run, which will almost double my miles if it goes well. However I’m sitting here sipping hot chocolate with a slug of cherry brandy in it (which I can highly recommend with whipped cream on it if you aren’t limited  in your calorie/fat intake) contemplating, so I thought that I’d share with anyone who might be interested.

It has been a so so kind of week. Tuesday am I ran in the early morning mist before breakfast. My training schedule called for ‘ 10 minutes at threshold’. I can only describe it as ‘sluggish’ in terms of both feelings and speed. Maybe that kind of run is better after food. The misty scenery was good. Wednesday a steady 5k. Thursday I had planned a longer run but had my first episode of runners tummy trouble. Something I have read about but not been afflicted with before.  Sparing you the details, it ended up with me cutting the run short to go home!

Today it was dusk before I was ready to run so my husband persuaded me to go to the gym instead. Obviously it was packed at 9pm on a Saturday night! Not. It was time to go when the man came round unplugging all the equipment!

I did notice that they are starting their next ‘lose weight and shape up’ course next week. So should I join or not? It would be good to lose some weight, both for vanity and from the running point of view. There’s no doubt that the chassis is too big for the engine if there is any need for speed!

But I have read so many books, I know the theory, do I need to pay to sit through talks on the subject of diet and exercise? Or will I find motivation in being part of a group and getting weighed every week? There are group exercise sessions also that might help with strength and muscle building, but my priority is to have the energy and stamina for that 13.1 miles in November – will that be possible if I am trying to ‘diet’ too?

My weight has been steady for about 4-5 months but it seems to be nudging down another pound since I upped my mileage a couple of weeks ago. Can I wait a year to lose a stone?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, half marathon, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The chassis is too big for the engine!

  1. bitzyfit says:

    Patience is the key, you can do it 🙂

  2. pwhent says:

    I can relate to this post. From my experience I would beware dieting and training for an endurance run together. Calories are your friend at the moment!! There is a great book by Matt Fitzgerald (I think) called “Racing Weight” and it tells you how to reach your ideal running weight while still training. I wouild recommentd it. There are some long boring chapters on theory that you can skip (they will be obvious!) but the core message is well explained. Good luck.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks I read his book at the beginning of summer and I was fascinated to find the link between body weight and speed- I always thought that it was all about fitness. All the same i think that I’m just a bit impatient. You are right though about putting the running first. Without that I wouldn’t have lost any ty weight at all!

      • pwhent says:

        There is another book which people at my tri club swear by called “Lean and Clean”. I think it is a cookbook for people trying to keep an ideal racing weight while training. I haven’t read it so can’t promise anything but some folk whose opinion I respect recommend it.

      • mawil1 says:

        Thanks I will look for it. I’m thinking about the 2 day fasting one. I know that someone at work who does alot ipg cycling has done it so I’m going to ask him about it

  3. Diet has a bigger impact than exercise – you MUST maintain lean muscle mass / so nutrient rich whole foods are the foundation – a cheat day also helps to reset the hormone balance and can be a god send for nights out, high days, holidays etc. They sound like an indulgence but otherwise can can plateau. Rest and water important too!

  4. nicwnacw says:

    My weight loss has been steady and virtually non-stop since eating the way Steve says to eat, which is basically what your mum told you to do, loads of veggies, raw food, some meat, less bread, more whole foods – like it was when i was a kid. there was no processed foods then except jellied eels and crab. The only takeaways we had were fish and chips (a weekly treat) and pie and mash shops which sold minced mutton pies, mashed potates and mushy peas.

    I have to say I am greatful that I had a good healthy start to my life, was always out playing running around, skipping, climbing trees etc.

    God I sound old, but it is what our bodies have been designed for.

    Keep going you will get there

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes it was the same when I was a kid, mainly fresh stuff and if my mum bought a fray bentos meat pie(! The nearest to a ready meal) it was shared between 2 adults and 3kids – now 2adults would think it stingy! We ate less and walked everywhere so we were skinny kids. No coincidence I think that I started to put weight on after I got a car in my late 20’s!

Leave a Reply

