Weekly summary

It’s been an interesting week on the diet and exercise front. Last week I was moaning to my husband about how I’d hoped, even though it isn’t my primary motivation, to lose a little bit of weight through running but haven’t lost a pound in 6 months. He mentioned that a couple that we know at work have been doing the ‘fast diet’ very effectively.
As they aren’t the kind of people to do fad diets and I know that one does alot of cycling, I thought that I would look at it so I bought the book from kindle.
When I read the book I was impressed by the research that has gone into this ( especially as I have worked with Tony Howell and Michelle Harvey who have done much of this research with regards to breast cancer. They are good scientists and I respect them greatly) and the benefits apart from just weight loss.
In addition there seemed to be more fat loss than muscle loss when compared to on going daily calorie restriction.
Anyway I decided to give it a go and fasted (more accurately restricted to 500 calories which I ate between 7am and 2pm, then truly fasted for 16hrs until breakfast the next day) on Monday and Thursday. I ran on both days, 5k on the Monday, 10k on the Thursday. The book said not to eat additional calories to allow for exercise so net calories on Monday were 200 and on Thursday minus 100.
So how did it go? After Monday I lost a pound , after Thursday another pound and I dropped 1percent body fat (34.9) The days after fasting I did eat twice as much breakfast as usual. The fasted runs were very slow to get going -my legs felt so stiff and I didn’t achieve my average pace of 12 mins per mile (which I know is slow but I can normally keep it going at that pace).
After the Thursday fast Friday was a struggle. I felt ‘wrung out’ all day and had a meat and tater pie for lunch in an attempt to revive myself! Normally I wouldn’t eat such a high calorie, high fat lunch!
I’m blaming it on the fast but it could have been tiredness. I allowed myself to lie in this morning instead of going to Parkrun and I feel alot better.
In total I have done 15 miles so far this week with today’s ‘easy run’ still to do. I will see how it goes with today’s run and tomorrow’s intervals and whether I put the weight back on over the weekend! I’m a bit stunned by the weight loss, I can’t believe that it’s real!
If I can’t manage my normal pace I will drop the fasting thing until after the half marathon.
If i do OK I will probably adjust things so that I don’t do my long run on a fast day, or maybe just fast 1day per week as I would be happy to lose 1 pound per week over a few months, I’m not in a hurry!
Oh and the thing about the fasting was that being hungry wasn’t really a problem. I didn’t pass out and it wasn’t awful. Yes you feel a bit hungry but knowing that you have a meal to look forwards to its ok. It makes you realise how lucky you are to not have to face real hunger.
Well it’s a beautiful day so I think that a run in the hills might be in order.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, half marathon, healthy diet, middle aged women, novice, parkrun, running, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Weekly summary

  1. I found it takes a little time to get your “head right” for the fasting thing (especially if you have not tried it before). The natural thing is try to regain the lost entitlement part of you missed meals.
    So I found doing a single non training day first – in fact I built up with half a day first.

    The easiest way to explain is that for lunch – if you cannot get away to have lunch it bugs you – you are aware and resentful – if you are really busy and skip lunch then your system is not really bothered. Much of this is not conscious thought

    The very knowing that for have fasted and it was no big deal then makes it easier.

    I found Tues and Thus worked the best but some preparation is required – it does not work on two consecutive days (for me anyway). Don’t think 2 days works well 3 days will therefore be better. There are a few different versions and studies but it all starts crumbling if you get greedy and think 3 is better then 2.

    On the pace front I won’t worry as its the time on your feet that counts really – a minute or 2 minutes below your target pace is fine and helps to ward off over training. This is especially true if you are trying to add distance. Even a walking break in the context of increasing your long run distances is not a disaster and some people find it helps to reduce the psychological pressure.

  2. Reblogged this on fatness to fitness, our journey and commented:
    Might be a useful thing to try.

Leave a Reply

