No run today

WHen I awoke at dawn there was enough light to walk downstairs and fill the kettle. Looking out of the window there were sheep in the garden. It wasn’t that surprising. Sunday had been stormy and yesterday I had noticed a fence panel slipping out of it’s concrete post, now it was flat on the ground. I poured a bowl of muesli and switched on the kitchen light. Suddenly the outside was plunged into darkness and I couldn’t see the sheep anymore.

I ate the muesli and pretended that they weren’t there.

Planning to drink my tea in bed I switched the light off again and there were the sheep. Could I pretend that I hadn’t seen them and leave my husband to sort them out later? What if they got onto the road? What if the farmer came to shout at me about the broken fence? Reluctantly I slipped on hubbys wellies and shuffled out into the garden. Now I don’t look my best first thing in the morning, but the sight of me in pink check pyjamas and outsize green wellies is obviously terrifying as those sheep turned tail and ran!

i replaced the panel and contemplated the morning. Everywhere was wet but it wasn’t raining it was a beautiful but very English morning, the light was a soft pink, the clouds pale and fresh and a blackbird was singing in the tree. It was a perfect morning for a run but I didn’t go for one.

Yesterday was a ‘fast’ day. Last week was my first week of the fast diet. Although I appeared to lose 2 pounds it went back on at the weekend. (I recorded my daily food intake and exercise on ‘my fitness pal’ and out averaged 1200 calories per day over the week so I would expect to lose something). I lost 2pounds again after yesterday’s fast but I have to admit that I find it hard. The fasting is ok I can cope with feeling a bit hungry but the problem is the day after. Despite eating my head feels wooly and I feel like I’m working at snails pace. Maybe it just shows how much of my time I spend buzzing around on a high of caffeine and sugar!

The jury is still out for me on this one. OK I complained about not losing weight, but my main priority is to feel healthy. Running gives me a sense of health and well being that fasting Despite all the stuff they said in the book about mental clarity and well being, has not done so far.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fast diet, fitness, healthy diet, middle aged women, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to No run today

  1. bitzyfit says:

    Everything new takes time, but your body will tell you what to do, try not to rush things accept what you can do, things will fall in to place soon enough 🙂

Leave a Reply

