Hello!

Although this blog consists of a lot of inane warbling there hasn’t been any for a few days. Sorry if anyone missed it, the odd insomniac maybe. Anyway last time I posted I was  doing the fast diet thing. To summarise the second week was better than the first in terms of not being tired but I did less running. Then I embarked on over a whole week of birthday celebrations. After about 3 days of cake I went for an 8 mile run. 

I learned some useful things. 

Food is fuel. Yes  I know that you know and I know its obvious, but after trying to run with and without it I found that muscles work better with it. 

The first 3 miles are the hardest  after about 5 I felt ‘steady’ but mile 8 was starting to be uncomfortable. There is a chance that I will be able to jog the whole 13 miles. 

The fast diet works for weight loss. I did lose 2lb in 2weeks so it is something I might try after the ‘half’

after the 8 miler I didn’t run for a week. Too busy with work and yet more birthday celebrations. However I think the break did me good as yesterday I went for a really nice early evening 5 miles. 

The fact that I can describe a 5 mile run as pleasurable or achievable would stun the ‘me’ from last year!  Here’s hoping that next years me can do something equally stunning to the current me! 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hello!

  1. Running with cake! I’m almost tempted.

    • mawil1 says:

      Mm would there be nice cakes and naughty cakes? Nice ones that give you the energy to run and naughty ones that just sit on your hips and slow you down?!

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. bitzyfit says:

    Well done, I like the cake parts very much… Maybe a break was just the job! 🙂 good for you getting back to it – great achievement YAY!

Leave a Reply

