Job done!

When the alarm went off at 5:50 I think that I would have stayed in bed if I hadn’t told everyone that I was going to get up and run that massive hill!
But I thought of you all and got up and out. When I got to ‘the hill’ I found myself thinking ‘I’ve got to run all the way up so that I can tell them that I ran up’! Motivating though it was I did have to take about 10 5-10 second walk breaks to get me up there! When I got to the top the sun was coming up and the downhill run back was good. I realised that all those long runs have made my legs stronger. Normally they would be like jelly with wobbly knees coming down that hill but today they felt solid and as if putting my body weight through them was no problem at all.
Thanks to everyone for their messages of support! You helped me to do it and it was worth getting up for! If you want to see my hill it’s here! http://www.mapmyrun.com/view_workout?w=408396065
Thanks! Julie

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, fitness, fun, half marathon, maps, middle aged women, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Job done!

  1. John says:

    Nice one Julie.

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Wow, I am almost feeling motivated to run myself! I have never ‘blogged’ before in my life so hope I am on the right track? But, I am in awe of you…we need to find a way to get to you to the well earned target…x

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi Elaine, thanks for your support and for sponsoring me too! I’m meeting with the trust comms team on Thursday to put a press release together so hopefully that will let people know what we are up to! Running can be fun especially at the beginning when you progress from walking to running a little bit more each week. Why not give it a go? If you can download a podcast to listen to nhs couch to 5k is good. Juliexx

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

      • elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

        Hmmmm….I am enjoying the ‘you doing the running’ and ‘ me doing the supporting’ status at the moment, ha. But…I am thinking of ways to help raise he funds you need….x

      • mawil1 says:

        Thanks Elaine! Word is getting around now and someone dropped off a 100 pound cheque in clinic yesterday! I know that you are already doing your bit for ‘word of mouth’ and I really appreciate it, thank you! Julie

        Sent from my iPhone

        >

Leave a Reply

