Good, better best

You had to be seven to join recorder club. When you reached that happy age you were allowed into the big classroom at lunchtime where our headmaster would tell you to put a chair on the desk and that was your music stand. What a hero Mr Blackburn was! 20 little girls with plastic screechy recorders – And no earplugs!

Our first song consisted of the note ‘B’ and blowing through the mouthpiece in time to the following words;

‘good, better best,

never let it rest,

’til your good is better,

and your better’s best’

In running it is easy to determine better and best.  The person who runs a set distance in the fastest time, or the person who runs the farthest distance in a set time Is the best. Style and technique count for nothing, first over the line is the winner and the best. Of the rest, some are better than others.

Given that very few people who run are world record holders, we all know that there is someone out there better than us.. Does that mean that we can’t have fun, improve, or take pride in our achievements? Should we hang our head in shame because we aren’t Mo? Should we just give it up if we aren’t going to be world record holders?

Do we look with disdain at people who aren’t as good as us?  Or do we look back and remember when we first started running, our first 5minutes without stopping, our first 5k, our first marathon? Are we bored by other peoples achievements or do we celebrate with them? Does other peoples joy in achievement, no matter how small help us to re-live when that was our goal and our achievement?

I started blogging because I thought that it might be a good way to generate publicity for my fundraising efforts.. An unexpected outcome was that I have made links with people who offer advice and support and I have really enjoyed that. In turn some people have seen my progress and been motivated to start a walk -run programme.( If I can do it anyone can!)

Some people, however, like to sneer.

If you don’t like it, don’t read it.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, charity, fitness, fun, half marathon, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Good, better best

  1. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    My dad always said, ‘ the day you think you are better than anyone else my love you are on a hiding to nothing….but; by god, there is no one better than us!’ This has stood me in good stead the whole of my life despite those unfortunate souls that sneer! Life is about ones own integrity; something that cannot be bought or sold; Infact invaluable! What you are doing is amazing!
    You are raising money, confirming your dedication, and learning things about yourself you hadn’t known. Feed on the positive, ignore the negative keep running! I am so very proud of you….x

    • mawil1 says:

      Dad’s eh? Mine used to say that all that anyone could ask was that you do your best no more than that was expected, but that your best was expected. He wasn’t a clever man but he was right about that. I agree with you about the value of integrity and positivity. The best thing is you can train yourself to be positive you don’t have to be born that way and sometimes you can pass it on to others ( like you do!) Juliex

      Sent from my iPhone

      >

  2. When I see runners who are just beginning, I always flash back to when I started- an overweight former athlete- and I remember the hard work, the early mornings and long nights and the highs from achieving my goals. Setting records, then breaking them with new PRs…. It is about the journey, not the end point.

Leave a Reply

