Work life balance ….it’s a myth.

The phrase work life balance for me brings to mind an image of a statue or goddess holding her arms out weighing something in each hand to see if it balances, like libra or justice. In reality any woman of a certain age knows that all the things in life that need to be in the balance don’t neatly fit into two hands or even onto two arms. Hence we don’t balance, we juggle.
At any one time a couple of things will be in the hands in the balance but these are constantly being swapped as other things take higher priority and get balanced whilst the original contents get tossed in the air to fend for themselves for a few seconds. As life goes on we add more items and get better at the juggling but sometimes life just throws in an extra ball that you weren’t expecting and before you know it you’ve dropped them all.
The last couple of weeks haven’t gone as planned. A poorly relative, some extra work and before you know it there’s no food in the fridge and the training plan has gone out of the window.
It’s nearly 2weeks since I did any running and only 1week until my half marathon. There’s no point panicking. Tomorrow I will do my 11 to 12 miles, a week late and then next week I’ll just go for it.

Last week I met the comms team at work to do a press release. We had lots to chat about as they are planning to do the Manchester 10k next year. Hopefully a bit of publicity will lead to more sponsors! http://www.justgiving.com/elhtbreastservice

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, charity, fitness, fun, half marathon, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Work life balance ….it’s a myth.

  1. John says:

    Hope it all goes well for you.

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    ….you have worked hard and invested time and energy, all your fellow runners will be juggling their lives too, so be positive….I for one have every faith in you x

  3. nicwnacw says:

    You have every chance of succeeding, plenty of people there with you in spirit, best of luck and most of all, enjoy the day.

  4. I struggle with work/life balance too and it is refreshing to just juggle what you can, do what you can. Good luck on the half!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you. The juggling can be tricky can’t it? Running helps to keep me calm though! I’m strangely looking forwards to the half so I must believe that I can do it!

  5. pwhent says:

    It is surprising how little fitness you will have lost in 2 weeks. If you can run 11 miles you can run 13.1. Also a lot of your first half marathon is about managing your head. You seem to be doing that well. You will be fine. I am looking forward to reading the race report!

Leave a Reply

