Ready, get set….

3 days to go!
I did my last long run yesterday, a few days later than I would have liked but I wanted to reassure myself that I would be able to do it. It was hard work and there were a lot of walking breaks but I think that willpower will keep me going. Also it was practice at running in the rain and hailstones! Weather forecast for Sunday is rain.
Today I had a chat with a reporter from the local paper. Our comms team sent out a press release and apparently the lancs evening telegraph are going to put me in Friday’s ‘health’ section. The photo I had taken in the staff gym in my running kit makes me look like I’m auditioning to be Gazza’s new best friend (Julie jelly bellies)! My colleague kindly pointed out that I have been going out in public dressed like that for some time so not to worry everyone’s seen it already.
Hopefully the reporter will write something positive.
Our trust is one that has been in difficulty recently and had a bad report from the CQC so we have had quite a bit of flack in the press about that. I’m only trying to do my bit for our service and our patients so I hope he doesn’t ‘have a go’ in any way.
Quite a few people have sponsored me now so that is reassuring.
All that remains is to do a reccie to find our where this race starts and have a look at the course, and make sure that I have got my instructions for the day. Oh and the perennial question – what to wear? At least I know which shoes I’ll be wearing!
My next blog should be my post race report! Speak to you then! Lol Julie x

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ready, get set….

  1. pwhent says:

    Masses of good luck on Sunday Julie. Positive vibes heading your way.

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    How could the reporter write anything but positive! You are literally doing the extra mile for the service. We are all behind you, so relax, stay positive and ignore the weather forecast. I too will be sending you positive vibes on Sunday…. Come on my lovely, you can do it!

Leave a Reply

