Review and reflection.

Post half marathon, stretched bathed. Felt tired the next day but not too stiff then after that fine.

so what next?  People keep asking me! Of course I have a plan (that’s me, always do, for most things) Or at least an ambition.

now I want to run faster.

As I have been taught on all those courses my objectives must be ‘SMART’ specific, measurable, can’t remember ‘A ‘, realistic and timed. So my next objective is to get my plod from 12 mins per mile to 10 mins per mile by Jan 31st. Doing a parkrun in 30 minutes would mark that as the goal achieved.

I would also like to get my weight down by 7lb in the same time but I’m not so confident about that.

Earlier in the week I was chatting with someone at work about using the treadmill. She was mentioning the benefits of the psychology that you can’t stop running or go slower unless you actively decide to do so and take the action of pressing the button.  And of course no problems about running out in the dark. So today the opportunity presented itself to run in the gym whilst my son was having his swimming lesson. I set the speed to 9.5 kph (I’m getting quite adept at the mental arithmetic for converting kilometres to miles now) and off I went.

It was good that the machine set the pace, especially as my Garmin is broken.

I managed that speed for about 75% of my 25 mins so that was a good start. Breathing was more of an effort than I have got used to – it was like being back at the beginning again! It does make me feel optimistic about achieving the objective of going faster though.

As for weight loss?

I have been recording my weight and body fat since April and have lost 7lb in 7 months so that’s ok. I’d have to cut back on calories though I think to lose the same amount in 3 months. I need to think about that a bit more!

I’m currently re reading Julian Goater’s ‘how to run faster ‘ for inspiration.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, healthy diet, interval training, middle aged women, parkrun, reading, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Review and reflection.

  1. Great goals for yourself, and 7 lbs in 7 months is great! Be proud!

  2. fitfor365 says:

    I stumbled across this post from last year which I think is good advice, http://fitfor365.wordpress.com/tag/henry-rono/

  3. pauldavies says:

    There’s a book that tells you how to run faster!!! How can that be interesting?Hey ho.
    Good luck with that.

    • mawil1 says:

      Ha ha! Not your cup of tea I guess? Are you reading anything just now? But in my defence sometimes if you want to achieve something reading about someone else’s experience can help!

  4. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Aw, thought I had ‘ blogged’ to say well done you! Can’t see it so thought I’d post again, ha, im rubbish….if you need help to raise more monies for the machine let me know via email…I am in!
    As long as I don’t have to run anywhere!!!

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Elaine! Yes I’m thinking about fundraising. We have a slow trickle of money coming in (people giving us cash in the clinic – Nobody trusts all that electronic gizmo!) I’m thinking it over but if you have any suggestions I’m all ears! Juliex

Leave a Reply

