Normal service will resume after a short break…….

Following my half marathon I have had a couple of weeks of basking in the afterglow. I didn’t raise as much money as I hoped to, but to use an apt cliche I think the fundraising will be more of a marathon than a sprint!

Last weekend was a lovely break at the anatomy demonstrators reunion. Now before you go thinking that I have a politically active past protesting for or against some kind of body fascism let me explain. An anatomy demonstrator is someone who teaches anatomy to medical students by showing them where all the named parts are on body parts (donated by people who have indicated that they wish to do this during their lifetime).
Doctors spend time as anatomy demonstrators because it helps them to learn their anatomy thoroughly in preparation for surgical exams and careers. Despite all that work (cue laughter), it was a carefree time and the only time in my career that remotely resembled ‘dr in the house’ or ‘carry on doctor'(if you don’t know what I’m talking about ask your granny!)

Anyway a group of us had lots of fun together at that time and have continued to do so at subsequent get togethers – though this was the first time we all got together with partners, kids and dogs!

We stayed at a lovely place just outside Hereford ( brinsop court if you wish to hire a house for a large party). The house (see picture above- yes that is a moat) was amazing but more startling was the number of stars you could see at night, we were so far away from any light pollution.

So having had my break I’m moving into my winter running programme. Early morning runs have died a death in the cold and dark despite setting the alarm! I said that I wanted to work on speed over the winter so imagine my surprise when I went to the gym last week and noticed ( not unlike Alice in wonderland) a button on the treadmill that said ‘speed training’. Reader I pressed it.

Nothing scary happened. In fact it was really straightforwards. Basically it asks you what speed you want to do for slow, what you want to do for fast and then you just press the button to switch from one to the other. Because you are on the treadmill you can see how many metres you have done, so it’s much easier to do a 400m interval with a 200m recovery than it is running along the road. I just have to write down what I did so that I can plan the next session.
Just as well really as my poor garmin has a broken strap and I need to find out about getting it repaired. Does anyone have any experience of this? Should I just superglue it?

20131114-222021.jpg

I’m planning some outdoor running over the weekend during daylight hours.

The other good thing about the demo’s reunion was finding out that my 2 female compatriots have also taken up running. We 3 shall meet again at the Manchester 10k!

I hope that you are all managing to adjust to the changing seasons. Goodnight! Jxx

 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, bupa 10k, charity, fitness, fun, half marathon, holidays, interval training, middle aged women, running, sightseing, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

