Not quite winter yet!

Image

The light was so beautiful this morning I had to stop and take this picture!

Just catching up with ‘blogs I follow ‘ and it’s evident that winter is setting in in the northern hemisphere. All those running and fitness blogs are posting their favourite comfort foods (all healthy, honestly!) or maybe the serious runners are letting their hair down now that there is a break in the racing season.

The other common theme is trying to get out for a run with pressures of work and darkness. Why does work ramp up at this time of year? I mention it because I’m experiencing it myself. Is it that so much gets out off because of summer holidays? I have certainly heard people avoid July/august for meetings because people will be on holiday. Not complaining but with one thing and another I’ve had 3 16 hr days so far this week so I’ m glad of a more relaxed day today.

On the running front,good news. A couple of pals have agreed to enter the Bupa 10k in manchester in May. We live too far apart to run together, but we can keep in touch electronically and encourage each other. So I have done my entry form! I logged onto their training page. I had thought that you could only use the training pages if you had entered for a race, but I realise now that anyone can use them, you just need to register your details. You can find them at http://www.greatrun.org. I was interested to see all my data there from last year. Six months ago my average speed was 14 mins per mile and now it’s 12. So I used to be even slower!!! Joking apart I’m glad to see an improvement.

I was also thinking that May is a long time away. Have done some research and found a ‘goal-den girls’ 10k in Blackpool in February. What could be better than running along the prom in horizontal rain with waves crashing over the railings? Funnily enough the picture on the website shows slim lasses running in the sun. http://www.fyldecoastrunning.org  Might enter anyway

over the weekend I managed runs outdoors on Saturday and Sunday. Loved Saturday, legs felt like lead on sunday! 3days off due to work pressures but planning to go out NOW! It’s tempting to do 2 sessions in one day whilst I have time, outdoor easy run now, intervals on the treadmill whilst joe is at his swimming lesson. Would that be silly?

well, got to run! Bye for now, Juliex

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
Aside | This entry was posted in blogging, bupa 10k, fitness, fun, interval training, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Not quite winter yet!

  1. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Well done you! Well you have your first sponsor pledge here for your next marathon x

  2. Amazing photo! Incredibly jealous, I haven’t ran outdoors in so long 😦 Keep it up!

    ~Jess

Leave a Reply

