How’s the running going?

Image

Today the weather was really stormy, blowing a gale. My meeting at work had been cancelled so I had the morning off to do some chores. I walked about 200m between shops and got drenched. As I stepped into M&S water dripped off my soaked hair and it crossed my mind that a more sophisticated woman would have worn a hat or carried an umbrella. Not me! Will I ever learn? I don’t really want to be a Bridget jones facsimile.

So! a surprise morning off. Would I use the time for a daylight run? Most people wouldn’t t put an animal out in this weather! Well I went anyway. It brightened up so I put a hat and a jacket on and went out.

The reason I went out was because over the last few days the number on the bathroom scales has been creeping up. Just before the half marathon the number was nudging down slowly and I wanted to put a stop to the rapid up rather than the slow down. Since the half marathon I have managed to keep up the running but only twice per week. I’ve been doing one outdoor run at the weekend and a treadmill run at the gym to do some speed intervals. Only about 5 miles per week though. It got me to thinking about how much I need to run to keep my weight steady.  Well I have the numbers so I thought I’d have a look.  10 miles per week. Now that’s not bad is it? I thought that it would be twice that! I’m sure I can manage 10 miles ( in 2or3runs) and a speed session in a week.

Running in the dark is just a matter of willpower. Yes bed is warm, but do you know what? I’m never cold when I’m running, always hot and sweaty. And 6 am is 6am whatever.

Someone else commented on days till the shortest day – 16 -after that 25 weeks of increasing daylight. Lots to look forwards to!

i hope that you all have something to look forwards to too!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, half marathon, interval training, middle aged women, novice, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to How’s the running going?

  1. Hedwigia says:

    I’d forgotten I could add up the total miles per month, so went off to have a look. My best two months, May and August, were the only ones where I got past 20 miles (though I’ve just remembered that I haven’t had my Garmin on for some of the more recent ones – but it wouldn’t make all that much difference!)

    Managing over 30 for April to October looks pretty impressive to me (as does a half-marathon – ugh!) Good luck for early morning dark runs. I’m not sure I’ll be doing too many of those, but you never know. 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      I realised adding up the monthly miles smooths out the odd missed run etc. of course the garmin will add up the monthly or weekly totals for you. I missed a few when my watchstrap broke but I used ‘map my run ‘instead. i think 20 miles per month is good too, that’s 2 5k runs per week and it took me 4 months to build up to 1 5k! It’s funny how we can move on without noticing unless we stop to look back

Leave a Reply

