Fat geese, hobbits and fast land mammals

Christmas is coming and it isn’t just the goose that is getting fat. I had got used, since I started running, to a steady or slowly declining weight so I have been a bit perplexed to find it creeping up over the last 3 or 4 weeks. I have tackled this by;

1. Recording all my food intake on my fitness pal ( which tells me that I will have lost weight in 5 weeks).

2. Upping my mileage back to 10 miles per week, done for 2weeks now

3 re reading Matt fitzgerald’s ‘racing weight.

I think that I had a bit of a lightbulb moment today, courtesy of Matt. I was eating my muesli which I had dutifully recorded as 60g when I thought that I should weigh it just to check. I couldn’t weigh the bowl I was eating so I poured another one of my usual size and sure enough it was 100g. An extra 150 calories. Mm that got me thinking.

Image

Its a cheetah! Sadly I think that I have been more cheater than cheetah. Later on today I got to thinking about last week Friday clinic where in the course of the afternoon I managed to eat 6 thorntons chocolates. When I came to put them into ‘my fitness pal’ it said they were 80 calories each. I couldn’t believe it. Celebrations or quality street are also chocolate and about the same size but only 40 calories. I decided that my fitness pal must be wrong and halved the number that I had eaten to make the calories ‘right’. Another 200 hidden calories I suspect.

after my cereal I had to go in to work for a meeting and after that I felt a bit peckish so I had some toast and a milky coffee.

Image

By the time I had logged that and a light lunch I found that I had no calories left for dinner! We had a stir fry ( no rice of noodles for me) and I went for a run based on the calorie content. I’m well aware that that’s not how you are supposed to put a training programme together, today I should have been doing some speed intervals or something, but instead I decided to do 4miles in order to use up 400 calories!

whether it was the motivation or having a good carb load on board I don’t know, but I had a really good run! I have re-set map my run to talk to me every half mile so that is quite helpful. I try to keep running ‘just for half a mile’ and it helps.

Time for a bit more honesty and accuracy!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, interval training, middle aged women, reading, running, time management, Uncategorized, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

