Winter solstice

It’s done. The shortest day is over. Six months of increasing daylight running to look forwards to. The winter solstice feels like more of a new start than New Year’s Day or a birthday.You can be absolutely certain that something, ie daylight will get better!
I have high hopes for next year. This time last year I chickened out of a January 10k because I wasn’t ready, I couldn’t run 10k and I didn’t until May. A year on and I’m a different person. I don’t run because I feel I should, I’ve got enough miles under my belt to know that I run because I enjoy it. I’m hoping for a year of steady running at least 3 times per week. It’s a treat to go out for a run, but one I’m allowed to have and one that isn’t entirely selfish as I think I’m a lot easier to get along with when I’m running regularly.
Where are the landmarks in your year? What does the new year mean to you?

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Winter solstice

  1. fitfor365 says:

    I’m aiming to get some consistency back in my running again next year. Have you seen Jantastic, http://www.jantastic.me it’s a three month challenge to get the UK running. I’ve got my eye on a few 10K’s next year too and maybe another half.

    • bitzyfit says:

      Sounds good – best of luck, I’ll check it out too 🙂

    • mawil1 says:

      I’ve signed up to jantastic thanks for the tip! I have signed up for a couple of 10k s but think that I should aim to do another half soon with a view to a marathon in 2015. I think that I need to double my weekly mileage ( to 20) before contemplating the big one though! Have a happy Christmas and best wishes for the new year. Julie

  2. bitzyfit says:

    I’m so glad to see the shortest day done with, bring back the lighter times! I started running late august, and have kept it up – much to my surprise! I’d like to build up my distance and stamina when Xmas is over :-).
    Congratulations on moving on – it’s great to know we can always aim high and achieve , bring it on. Xx

  3. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Keep up the good work Julie….. I would like to wish you a very merry Christmas and a happy, healthy new year! If you need help fundraising in 2014 feel free to drop me a line… Keep running and I will keep thinking about it…te he…x

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Elaine, I hope that you have a lovely Christmas. We have had some cash and cheques for the fund and are up to £2000 now which is excellent. Everyone has been very generous. Sometimes people hand me a fiver in the clinic which makes me feel like a waitress getting a tip! But it’s great that people want to give and support us
      Wishing you a healthy happy new year too! Love juliex

      • elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

        That’s great going…..the £2000 has stacked up quite quickly! I have just raised over £5k again at my third annual ball for the hospice; I would like to allocate some of the funds raised at next years event to the breastcare kitty for the new equipment, I will hopefully speak to you about it nearer the time… The support you have received is a credit to you and the amazing work that you do! Keep the blogs coming, even though I don’t run I enjoy the read! Best wishes E x

      • mawil1 says:

        Wow! 5k is a lot of money to raise, especially 3yrs on the trot. Now that I’m trying to raise some money I know how difficult it is! Well done you! Wishing you a happy new year Elaine, I hope that it brings you health wealth and happiness! Lots of love, juliexx

        >

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks Elaine, I hope that you have a lovely Christmas. We have had some cash and cheques for the fund and are up to £2000 now which is excellent. Everyone has been very generous. Sometimes people hand me a fiver in the clinic which makes me feel like a waitress getting a tip! But it’s great that people want to give and support us
      Wishing you a healthy happy new year too! Love juliex

  4. pwhent says:

    I can so relate to the idea of being better to get along with when I am exercising regulalry. I also feel more motivated and have more energy……apart from the 3 or 4 days before a race when I am a pain in the arse!!! I have really enjoyed followed your journey this year Julie. Well done on your achievements. I look forward to watching your adventures next year : )

Leave a Reply

