Streak broken!

After a 9 day gap I finally got out for a run yesterday.
The run up to Christmas was full on, with shopping and preparations. Work was extra busy too. 2 weekday bank holidays means 2 new patient clinics lost, but we don’t stop getting referrals and they all have to be seen within 14 days ( no allowances made for weekends or bank holidays) so we had extra clinics on the days running up to Christmas.
There were good things too. I had £250 in cash and cheques that patients and relatives had given to me in the clinic to take to the cashiers office, taking our charity fund up to £1000, then on Christmas Eve my secretary popped in to the office with a ‘this came for you’ – a cheque for £1000! Again from a previous patient! How lovely (and generous) was that!
Christmas was better than expected. I missed Dave’s mum on Christmas Eve, she normally oohs and aah’s as we wrap Joe’s gifts, assembling the digger or tricycle or whatever for that year. This year it had been a day at work, a dash around for last minute food shopping a glass of mulled wine then bed. On Christmas Day however, my mum was on good form and we had fun playing on joes new (safe point free) dart board.
Boxing Day I spent lazing around and reading. I could have gone for a run then, but after 7 days of not running you lose the habit so I didn’t. I received the book ‘ finding ultra’ ‘ rejecting middle age, becoming one of the worlds fittest men and discovering myself’ by rich roll. Who could resist a title like that?

20131229-113940.jpg
It was a good read . Interestingly another ultra runner living on a plant based diet. Last year I read Scott jurek’s ‘eat and run’ which I enjoyed and it impressed me. However I thought that it wasn’t for me as the recipes seemed a bit fiddly, I mean where was I going to find ‘flaked nutritional yeast’ , spirulina powder or fancy vegetable oils? Even so I did think that we should be eating more vegetarian food and last Christmas I requested and received a number of veggie cookery books. We have eaten more veggie food this year. I’m a bit limited though as hubby won’t eat anything bean based on a work night and joe has a nut allergy! So over the last couple of months we have slipped back in to more meat and processed food. Reading rich roll’s book got me thinking though and doing a bit of research.
I mentioned last week that I was trying to change my diet to more unrefined carbs and less fat, and I seem to be feeling the difference in my running ( although I could just be getting fitter). I’m starting to think that maybe what you eat does affect your running and not just in terms of how much weight you have to carry around.
I found a really good book on kindle, the ‘no meat athlete’. I like it because as well as giving the background about nutrition and recipes, there are chapters on things like ‘how to change your habits’. Really good advice on setting objectives and archiving them – very pertinent with the new year looming! So it’s about making small changes that you can maintain until they become second nature. I also found that you can buy a lot of these whole food ingredients off amazon if you can’t find them at your local shops.
Anyway I have made a start with vegan breakfasts. Yesterday I had porridge with a banana mashed into it instead of sugar and milk. That was yummy. Today avocado on toast with almond butter ( the boys had bacon and avocado), and I didn’t feel deprived of the bacon at all.
Next i plan to go through my veggie cookbooks, assemble a list of all our favourite recipes, do meal plans and shopping lists for a couple of weeks and see how it goes. The last thing to go will be milk in tea. Is soy milk a reasonable substitute? Will it taste the same? I’m reluctant to buy any to try as I think that it will be wasted.
Well it’s a lovely mild day so I’m out for a run to try to reverse my non running streak!
Happy running/reading/eating to you all!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in blogging, book reviews, change, charity, fitness, habits, healthy diet, high protein, holidays, low fat, middle aged women, novice, Nutrition, plant based, reading, running, time management, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Streak broken!

  1. fitfor365 says:

    Great post Julie, I don’t think I could do a vegetarian diet, I like meat. I could do with eating more healthily though, that’s something I’m going to work on in 2014. Glad you’re running again, an ultra is something I want to do in the future. I just concentrate on getting my consistency back for now though!

    • mawil1 says:

      Running an ultra isn’t on my horizon at present! I have read of women who have done their first ultra in their 50’s so never say never! Like you my main aim for this year is consistency, a steady weekly mileage as a base to build on. If I can get my half marathon time down to 2hrs 15 I would consider a marathon for 2015. Healthy eating I suspect is mainly about variety and trying to avoid processed foods full of hidden fats and sugar. I don’t think that vegan is more healthy, you can eat a lot of meat free rubbish! But I am intrigued by the things these guys say about quicker recovery, and leaner body mass so I’m interested to try this for a few weeks. I’ll let you know how it goes!

      >

  2. pwhent says:

    Great post Julie. I am heading down the same road as you in trying to improve performance by eating better. I asked for and was given James Guigan’s book “The Clean and Lean Diet” for Christmas. I was put onto it by someone in my tri club. Amongst other things it is big on the harm processed foods do. I also got the Clean and Lean Cookbook. There are some great recipes!! Good luck with everything in 2014, and Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

