Eating like an ultra

I have set myself the goal of ‘eating like an ultra runner’ for the month of January. By that I mean like people like Scott jurek or rich roll, who eat a plant based, whole food diet and manage to complete massive endurance challenges. I have no intention of running an ultra or even a marathon but I’d like to see if it makes any difference to my health and well being in the way they report. So what does it involve? No meat, eggs, fish or dairy products, no processed foods or alcohol.
One day down and 30 to go! So how was it? Well it’s evening, im not hungry and yet having logged all my food and drink on my fitness pal I’ve eaten only 1200 calories. Normally I eat much more, about 1700 on a normal day.

What have I eaten ( I have listed so you can skip this if you aren’t interested)
Porridge made with water and a mashed banana
Humus, whole wheat tortilla and cauliflower soup for lunch
Leek and chestnut risotto for dinner (A Hugh fernley wittingstall recipe)
Snacks: a naked strawberry crunch bar, some celery sticks and a homemade soya milk latte.

So it isn’t impossible to do. Let’s see how it goes!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Eating like an ultra

  1. pwhent says:

    I read Scott Jurek’s book a while ago and found it incredible what he achieved given what he was eating. I hope the next 29 days are as successful as the first. Good luck!

  2. bitzyfit says:

    Good luck I hope you do well on this, be interesting to see how you benefit from it. Thanks for sharing I’m looking forward to reading more 🙂

Leave a Reply

