My first plant powered run…….

Day 2 of the plant based diet

i have listed what I have eaten at the bottom in case anyone is interested in how you do this.

After a bit of messing about this evening I finally got out for a short run. It was like being a beginner again, head willing and determined, legs fine but gasping for breath. Just did 2miles. Turns out to be my fastest pace so far (12:12 per mile, ok not fast but a personal best). What a coincidence? Placebo effect maybe, brain expects to do better, body obliges! Either way, motivation to try again tomorrow!

cinnamon bagel

soya latte with honey

leek and chestnut risotto (left over from last nights dinner)

strawberry crunch naked bar

apple

north African squash and chickpea stew ( a river cottage recipe)

food doctor multi seed pitta bread

alpro chocolate soya milk

total calories 1364 (on target) 38g fat 45g protein (both lower than target)

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, low fat, middle aged women, muscle building, Nutrition, plant based, running, time management, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first plant powered run…….

  1. fitfor365 says:

    Does a piece of chocolate fudge yule log and a mince pie count? That’s what I’ve just had with a cup of tea. I’m hoping it’ll give me some energy for tomorrows run.

    • mawil1 says:

      Sadly no! Also sadly tea with milk is harder to give up. Soya lattes however are going on reserve list, no matter how much coffee or honey I put in they still taste like walnuts and not creamy. I can last a month without sweets and see what I think at the end!

      >

Leave a Reply

