A follow your nose kind of run

Today I awoke to silence, a change from the recent howling wind and rain hammering on the window. Today was the day to get out for good long run. Recently runs have been about doing the miles or the time, it seems like ages since I just went somewhere for fun. So today I planned to go to Houghton Bottoms. I have been there cross country from home, so I planned to run there by road then home over the fields. I wasn’t sure how far it would be and I was a bit limited for time as we were going out for lunch, but I thought that I could set off, run for half an hour and if I hadn’t got far enough just turn around and come back.
Normally I run into Houghton village on the left side of the road as there is no path on the right, and turn left to go down to the canal, but today I crossed onto the right side when path became available. This enabled me to see a public footpath I had never seen before. As I was already 25 minutes in I thought that it would cut a corner so I gave it a try.
I followed the path uphill and it took me across the driveway of our local stately home, Houghton Tower.

20140105-220158.jpg
It’s still occupied and generations of the same family have lived there since the 1400’s. It does look like a setting for a horror film (from the outside) so I was amused when my phone started to play ‘thriller’. Still had my sense of humour intact as I started to run around the boundary, ankle deep mud trying to suck my trainers off, when ‘chumba wumba’ started to sing ‘ I get knocked down, but I get up again’ in my ear! At that point it was so slippy I felt more like I was on a Nordic skier rather than running! The views to the north were good.

20140105-220828.jpg
Eventually I did come down to the farm at Houghton bottoms. I was pleased to note that due to the inclement weather the cows were all inside. There’s a small bridge here over the river along a trail which the cows normally use so it’s normally pretty muddy and full of slurry. Today I just had to contend with calf deep puddles of muddy rain water. Normally I try to get round them but today as I was already muddy I just thought ‘oh whatever’ and ran through them. It was actually quite liberating! Simple bathing hasn’t removed all the grime from my feet though, this evening has required extra soaking and scrubbing to get my feet looking clean.
So all in all a good run. I covered 5 miles and have another route to add to my repertoire; it links some of my other favourites so there is the potential for some good long runs over the summer.
New year goals are going ok. Will update when I have a week to report!
Happy running! Julie

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, fun, healthy diet, holidays, interval training, middle aged women, running, sightseing, time management, Uncategorized, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A follow your nose kind of run

  1. fitfor365 says:

    Good run Julie!

  2. My family used to live in Houghton! Many years since I’ve been up there,my father trained fellow policemen at a place called Stanley Grange, am not sure if it is still there.Enjoyed the piece.

    • mawil1 says:

      There is a smart hotel /restaurant between houghton and Mellor called Stanley house, I wonder if that was Stanley grange? It’s a small world!

      >

  3. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Well done you…great pics and love the choice of music, ha…x

    • mawil1 says:

      I did think as I was writing this how it reflected my awful taste in music! I have lots of modern stuff too but I put it all on shuffle so you can get some quite funny mixes. Did you know that one of the band members of chumbawumba, boff Whalley is also a fell runner from burnley? I know because he wrote a book about it! Jx

      >

      • elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

        That made me chuckle….I honestly did love the choice of music! Hey, you doing a run with a famous band member would be a great publicity stunt, though I can’t remember chumbawumba? I will have to google them….you are doing so well, i can’t believe you have time to read books on running too! X

Leave a Reply

