One week in

Goals for 2014

run 10 miles per week  ( aim to continue all year) tick 12.5 miles last week, 5 so far this week 3days to go

no alcohol (aim for 1 month) tick fine for me. Hubby I think is missing a drinking partner. He won’t open a bottle of wine just for him ( even though we cork it and put it back in the fridge after a glass!) it will be good for him!

plant based diet (aim for one month) doing ok. I have avoided meat and most dairy products successfully. I have been having milk (well it is a plant based not a vegan diet) in by breakfast tea but have introduced more herbal tea and black coffee. I’m also avoiding processed foods. In view of the absence of junk food I do seem to have kept my daily average calorie balance to 1200 (as calculated using my fitness pal) for a whole week( first ever) and I have lost One whole pound in weight!

in general I find that I seem to feel full quicker, but I do get hungry again quite soon. I am starting to appreciate the different flavours of lots of veg, sugar snap peas are really quite sweet! I did my first Parkrun today since august. I was really hoping for a PB But can you believe it, I was 1 second slower than my previous PB. I’m hoping to knock 5 minutes off by the end of the year, but that’s 30 seconds every month and I have knocked nothing off in 6! I might have to give some consideration to whether or not that is a realistic or achievable goal.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in fitness, healthy diet, low fat, middle aged women, parkrun, plant based, running, time management, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to One week in

  1. brewer317 says:

    Good luck with your weight loss and running goals! No need to cut out all meat or animal products as long as you have the same calorie balance at the end of the day. In fact, the protein might help keep you fuller and help you to stick to your diet. Just be sure to pick lean sources 🙂 You may find some articles on my site useful http://whatmattersnutrition.wordpress.com/

  2. elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

    Wow, you are sounding like a pro runner; so motivated! You put me to shame xxx

    • mawil1 says:

      Hi’ thanks for reading and for your interest. My primary motivation isn’t weight loss although it is a secondary concern. The plant based diet is a personal experiment. I was motivated to do it because of reading books by Scott jurek or rich roll. They explain how much fitter and faster they were. Losing fat helps you to run faster Matt FItzgeralds book ‘racing weight’ explains this well. I wonder if the ‘whole food plant diet’ makes you fitter and faster because you loose weight. It’s certainly difficult to eat outside the home so you end up eating only whAt you have prepared and taken with you. So at work you say no to cakes and chocolates because ‘that’s not the kind of food I eat’ as opposed to ‘I’m on a diet’ but of course the outcome is the same- cutting out the junk leads to weight loss.
      At the end of the month I will review whether to continue or not. I’m not missing the meat but life would be much easier with cheese!

    • mawil1 says:

      Whoops! I’m doing this on the tiny screen on my phone and replied to someone else’s comment to you! Sorry Elaine! Sadly I’m nothing like a pro runner! But it keeps me out of mischief and gives me a healthy focus for the obsessional bit of my personality. The reading motivates me to get out there – naturally I’m more of a reading /writing person without it I’d probably find it hard to keep going! Boff Whalley wrote all about the joys of fell running and how he couldn’t understand mass participation events like the boston marathon. I’d be too embarrassed to run with him! But I like the idea of someone from our area doing what they do for our community. I think Vivienne Westwood is a burnley girl too, isn’t she? I must google famous people from burnley!

      • elainewaine@hotmail.com says:

        Hmmm, I wasn’t aware that Vivien Westwood was a local girl; you have given me a great idea for my fundraising, te he… I too shall google local famous people, they are usually happy to support local charity! You should not be too embarrassed to run with him; don’t we put ourselves down; he would find you an inspiration! You have a crucial, high pressured profession, you are a mummy and you get out and run; not to mention the research you are doing to help improvement. I think you are a wonderful woman! And so would Boff Whalley! X

      • mawil1 says:

        I just googled to check and I was wrong she’s from tintwistle in Derbyshire. I thought if heard her say on the radio once that she was from burnley. Must have been wishful thinking!!

  3. bitzyfit says:

    You’re doing really well I admire your commitment, I hope you feel benefit from it 🙂 xx

  4. bitzy-ku says:

    Hi Julie I’ve nominated you for The Lighthouse Award, see my link for details, enjoy and keep posting. regards Bitzyku.
    http://bitzyku.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

