A walk on the weird side

Week two of the new year done.

The plant based diet had a lull on Sunday when I ate out, there was cheese in the vegetarian risotto. It was fine but was a bit ‘claggy’ after my week of a palate cleansed by vegetables. I haven’t been running for 4 days, due to being up at 5:30 for other reasons so haven’t had time to fit it in. This will pass, but in the short term I may not reach my 10 miles per week goal. Unless I go for a 10 mile run of course!

landmark for the week was trying something new, something that I had filed in my mental system as ‘weird’. I made and drank a green smoothie, complete with spirulina powder. Yup I drank algae. Funny thing was it was quite pleasant! I bought the spirulina powder from the health food shop, as I had read that it contained all the essential amino acids. I never opened it though as I didn’t really like the idea of it but when I noticed ( thanks to my fitness pal) that for most of the week I had eaten less than my daily reccomended amount of protein, I thought I should make the effort.

When I opened the packet, the powder was very dark green and matte. It looked nice until I spilt a bit onto the chopping board then it looked like mildew. I dipped a finger in it to taste and was instantly reminded of the crispy seaweed (which isn’t really seaweed) that you get in Chinese restaurants. I like that, so that was reassuring. Next I made a smoothie with apple, cucumber, celery and mint then added a scoop of the powder. It was pleasant to drink.

I never thought that I would drink a smoothie with algae out of choice! But then I never thought I’d run a half marathon. Never say never!

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in breaking rules, change, fear, fitness, habits, half marathon, healthy diet, high protein, middle aged women, novice, Nutrition, plant based, reading, running, time management, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A walk on the weird side

  1. pwhent says:

    Good for you Julie. I may have to give that a try. My wife has bought me a juicing book and lots of them are green! Like you I am instantly turned off by the colour. Also like you I have found myself eating and drinking lots of things I never thought I would – green tea and Agave Syrup (as a sweetener) are top of the list. I have had to adapt “lean and clean” because I was always hungry. It is still eating clean but the portions are for people not for sparrows! It may not work like that. I’ll have to wait and see.

    • mawil1 says:

      Yes, the prospect of a vegetable smoothie isn’t that appealing is it?! But adding a bit of fresh mint or fruit helps. I have mixed feelings about agave syrup it gave me heartburn so I just try to go without sugar. I suppose I’m trying to eat clean too, avoiding processed foods it’s surprising how you can eliminate masses of fat and sugar by doing that! I’m not hungry any more but need to keep researching new recipes to avoid boredom! Could you clean eat for life? Julie

      >

  2. mbcrower says:

    I love green smoothies! It’s great to try new things.

  3. gozzabear says:

    One of the many things I’ve been meaning to try… but haven’t had the right ingredients… or been turned off by them/the colour. Awesome that you gave it a go! Will have to try it myself sometime soon 😛
    I’ve nominated you for the lighthouse award on my blog, to show my appreciation for following me and being on this journey with me 🙂 gozzabear.wordpress.com

  4. nicwnacw says:

    I too have nominated you for the lighthouse award, you are an inspiration to me, your support has been invaluable. thank you. 😀

    • mawil1 says:

      Thank you! I don’t know what to say, but I do know that it’s good to know that there are people on the same journey out there and I really enjoy reading your blog too.

Leave a Reply

