22 days of plant based eating

I’m now 3 weeks in to my personal experiment/resolution. Like many experiments the results aren’t necessarily what you expected, and as a scientist at heart I know that it isn’t a ‘clean’ experiment, having had other lifestyle changes since the new year.

I have managed the whole food, plant based diet and no alcohol since January 1st, but not my 10 miles per week. My daily commute has gone from 30 minutes to 90 minutes each way which is my excuse for not getting out for a run. I don’t think this is going to last for ever but in the short term I have only managed 1 run per week.

The change in diet has been easy enough. I can read recipes and cook, so I have found plenty of variety in my diet and had lots of tasty nutritious food. My reason for trying it was because I’d read about other people doing it and saying how great they felt, fitter faster, more energy. So far I can’t say that I have felt like that, but that could be the extra commuting. My husband has been laughing at me, sensibly pointing out that if I want to be fitter and faster like the people who write the books then surely I should be doing as much exercise. He has a point.

I have noticed some changes, my skin looks better. The main difference is a change in my relationship with food.

I’m not hungry, I like my food and appreciate it, but you don’t get the same buzz out of eating it. I caught a bit of a documentary on tv he other night about the sugar industry, and someone was saying that food manufacturers look for the ‘bliss point’ when making foods – the exact combination of sugar fat and salt to give ‘bliss’ to the consumer. I suspect thats what I have been missing in my food. One night at dinner time I wasn’t feeling very hungry. I looked in the fridge but nothing tempted my appetite so I just didn’t eat anything. I don’t get the craving, but I don’t get the satisfaction either. But I realised that I was looking for something ( in the fridge) to give me pleasure and entertainment rather than satisfy true hunger. The upshot of this, eating directed by hunger and not desire, is that I am eating fewer calories than usual. It’s a bit dull, but I suppose it is a bit like an addiction

i have also noticed how much of the food we eat is animal based and highly processed, especially if you are out and about and looking for a snack or a meal out. It’s made me think a little more about the animals around us and the ecological impact of this.

WIll I change at the end of January? I suspect that I will have a glass of wine to celebrate the end of my month! But will I go back to meat? Or dairy? I think that the real issue is the ready made, processed foods and those are the things that I should avoid, full of hidden fat and sugar, but when you make a conscious decision to avoid meat and dairy it’s almost automatic that all those unhealthy foods are excluded. Yes you are left with chips

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, fitness, habits, healthy diet, low fat, middle aged women, novice, Nutrition, parkrun, plant based, running, time management, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 22 days of plant based eating

  1. nicwnacw says:

    All very true but I couldn’t survive without meat. I have to force veggies down – less now than I used to. I have total respect for your experiment x

    • mawil1 says:

      It’s not all cabbage and carrots! Lots of pulses nuts, pasta and rice. I think that it’s good to eat less meat than many people do, i.e. not every day. I wonder if I’m missing something because I feel cold and tired – but then I think that must be psychological, you wouldn’t become anaemic in 3 weeks! In terms of health I think the happy medium is meat once or twice per week. J

      >

  2. pwhent says:

    I am impressed Julie. That is quite a change and quite some discipline. I have stuck pretty closely to the Clean and Lean philosophy so far this year and I notice similar things to you – good skin, I sleep well, I have lots of energy…….and the weight is definitely coming off. But I miss a drink!!

Leave a Reply

