Not a good running week!

No runs all week. 

Woke up to rain hammering the window. 

Snug and warm in bed! Spent the morning reading about running instead of running! I had 2 books on the go and finished them both. Dean Karnazes ‘run’ and P Robbins 824. Both good reads but nothing I’m going to emulate. Both ( though I suspect that they would deny it) are what I would call natural runners, loved it from the start, quickly built up speed and endurance with little apparent effort).

I have decided not to feel bad about not running. I did think yesterday that I have been putting it off because I know that having slacked off for a couple of weeks I will have lost fitness and it will be hard again. However I’m feeling better after my duvet day. I plan to start again next week. 

Dean Karnazes quotes a Japanese proverb ‘fall seven times stand up eight’. 

thats how it is sometimes. 

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Not a good running week!

  1. bitzy-ku says:

    Duvet day sounds good for recharging the batteries! Good call on bad weather, I ran home in rain and strong wind and it was tough, I was glad to see the back of it. X

    • mawil1 says:

      Nothing like that feeling of satisfaction when you get back though -‘I did it even though it was tough!’ Good for you! Nice to remember what I’m missing!

      • bitzy-ku says:

        It was only one day for you, plus if I had been a hour later I wouldn’t have ventured out at all – we all do well and you’ll be ready and raring to go next time 🙂 x

  2. fitfor365 says:

    That’s just how it goes sometimes. Life just gets in the way. I started a new contract this week and its been a struggle to get my runs in, but I managed it… just. Next week will be better I hope.

    • mawil1 says:

      Good that you managed to get your runs in. To be fair with some motivation I could have got out this afternoon but chose not to. I used the time wisely though to get lots of meals ready for next week. I think that once you start writing a blog you feel obliged to come through with the goods! Which is a good thing!

      >

  3. nicwnacw says:

    Totally agree I often say ‘life got in the way’ Steve says That IS life, have to work round it. Keep on keeping on doing best you can when you can. xx I’m struggling to get back to running after being ill, weather not helping but I WILL get there and so will you.

    • mawil1 says:

      Thanks. I agree with the ‘this is life’ sentiment but when things change then you have to look again for where the slack is, or where you can make the slack. But I can’t see me going back now, (to before running) I just need to be patient! More daylight will help.

      >

  4. pwhent says:

    Julie, don’t beat yourself up (I don’t think you are!) about not running. Sometimes it’s like that. It sounds like you are still very motivated so forget last week and think about next week. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

