Is a try better than a goal?

20140129-194250.jpgp>

I was reading nicnwnaw’s post (fatnessnowfitness.wordpress.com) this morning and she commented on how she weighed herself every day because she liked her stats. I have to agree, I like my stats too and it’s very pertinent coming to the end of the month and time to review my January goals.

At new year, I did set some goals, some of which I have already shared with you, some I haven’t and I set my self some yearly goals too. I wrote them down in my ‘fitness diary’ which is just a little note book that I put useful info in, like treadmill speeds etc.

Image

I was thinking about this when I was out running this morning. With 2 days to go I have achieved so far the no alcohol and the plant based eating. No alcohol was easy, plant based eating harder but not too bad. I wanted to lose 4lb in weight, bringing my body fat percentage down to 34%. I have lost 3 1/2 lb and fat percentage is 34.5. I’ll be surprised if the rest goes in 2 days, but it’s progress and more progress than I have made in 6 months so I ‘m happy with that.

I haven’t managed my 10 miles per week, in fact this month is probably my worst running month for a long time! Neither have I done a speed session every other week, or 2 park runs.

When I set my running goal I thought that I would be running 3 – 4 miles. 3-4 times per week, as that is where I was at before Christmas, and deep down inside I thought that I would be averaging 12. Today I just went for a short run, 20 minutes, and I thought that maybe I should reset my ideas and plan to do 20 minutes every day, easier to fit in, would still make 10 miles per week.

one of the benefits of writing down goals and numbers is that you can change your expectations if things aren’t going as planned.

But if you change your goals or accept less than you aimed for is that cheating? What’s the alternative if you don’t achieve your goal? Give up? Call yourself a loser? I suppose that’s the advantage of having long term and short term goals. A bit like football you might play well but lose the match, you might lose this match but win the next one. You might win enough matches to win the league. Either way if you give up after losing the first match you aren’t going to win the league.

So for me there will be a new set of goals for February, starting from where I am now.

About mawil1

Hi my name is julie and I took up running at the age of 46! Hence 'mawil' Middle Aged Woman In Lycra. I did it at first because someone asked me to do a charity run with them. I couldn't run at all, but pride wouldn't let me be seen to be unable to run so I started a walk run programme. I stuck with it and to my surprise I found that I liked it- after a couple of weeks of progress I was hooked! My blog is about my progress in running and how I fit it in with the rest of my life.
This entry was posted in change, fitness, fun, habits, healthy diet, interval training, low fat, middle aged women, Nutrition, parkrun, plant based, running, time management, Uncategorized, Vegan, weight loss, work life balence, working mum. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Is a try better than a goal?

  1. pwhent says:

    You are spot on Julie. You have to set goals from where you are now, not from where you thought you would be when you started four weeks ago. I do that with my training. I set my schedule at the start of each week based on what I know I did last week. Someone taught me that about a year ago – it was so obvious once it was explained to me. Good luck with Feb!!

  2. nicwnacw says:

    Totally agree, you are where you are, work from that base and move onward and upward regardless of the gradient always upwards and forwards. Sometimes you get a setback, so you start again, the alternative is to give in.

    Best of luck with goals for next month x

Leave a Reply

